My Very Own Rating System

ratingsystem

It’s All About Books has evolved over time. Looking critically at my blog the other day, I realized I needed to create a new rating system for myself. A system where my general opinion of the books I’ve read would become clear without having to read the whole review, and hopefully allows for a better overview… So drum roll… I’m introducing you to my very own rating system. I do not claim originality since the 5 star system including half stars I used has probably been used a million times before. I’ve only added my own descriptions to the different ratings (they roughly translate to a 0-10 score). Their respective meanings are written below:

0
DNF. I didn’t even bother to finish this one. Absolutely and totally horrible!
05
Almost too difficult to reach the last page. Yuk!
1
Boy, this one gave me a hard time. Not a book to touch again. 
Rating 1,5
The story wasn’t horrible, but there still isn’t another word to describe it but ‘bad’.
Rating 2
It was ok. But mostly ‘meh’. 
Rating 2,5
I give this one the benefit of the doubt. Nothing too exciting
Rating 3
It was a nice read, but not fantastic. 
Rating 3,5
Great read. Really entertaining!
Rating 4
Wow, this was really good. Close to amazing!
Rating 4,5
This one was almost perfect. Surely fantastic!
Rating 5
Absolutely and entirely mind blowing! I suggest you to pick up a copy now.

I hope this will make it easier to read and understand my reviews!


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. Bloglovin’.

10 thoughts on “My Very Own Rating System

  1. Pingback: On changes and improvements of It’s All About Books | It's All About Books

  2. Wow! I am in awe of your rating system and your review set ups. They are so easy to follow and engaging. Great work!

    I am also in awe at your story of how you were traveling the world to find your place. Argentina is a country I’ve always wanted to visit, and you get to LIVE there! Incredible! Are you working there?

    Thank you for the follow and I look forward to perusing your reviews so I can add some books to my reading list 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! I’m glad you like my blog and the changes and improvements I’m making to my blog are being appreciated by someone. 😀
      And being able to travel around a lot was awesome. Argentina is a lovely place to visit, and a nice place to live too… I have been working in different hostels during quite some time, but I haven’t found anything I liked since I moved in with my boyfriend last year…

      Like

  3. Hi Yvo, nice blog. You certainly have had an interesting journey.

    Where did you get the star rating box from? Its brilliant I want one!

    Great reviews 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for your kind words! The star ratings are actually images I cut up from the original image with Photoshop… And then I combined them with my personal description for easy understanding. 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: Book Review Policy | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

