46 thoughts on “The Official 2015 TBR Pile Challenge Master Post

  1. This looks like a great way to motivate yourself to read books from your TBR. And because I’m thinking about imposing a book buying ban on myself for at least part of next year, it’s a challenge that I think I can complete! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the sound of the Mario Vargas Llosa book. I need to make myself read more in Spanish. I’m studying Spanish for my undergraduate degree, but unfortunately my timetable only allowed me to take one Spanish class this year, whereas last year I had several classes. I definitely notice the difference when I don’t speak, write or read in Spanish very often — it’s easy to start forgetting and of course, it’s always easier to read in my native language of English. But I do love Spanish! It makes me happy to listen to people speaking it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s exactly why I started studying Spanish in the first place! After finishing my degree and living in Argentina for the last few years Spanish has become almost like my first language, although I prefer reading in English to keep up my level. Vargas Llosa is a great author to be making an exception though. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I literally downloaded The Goldfinch just after midnight, to get it right away – and guess what? I’ve still not read it. Ditto Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life. What annoys me is I could have had both a LOT cheaper since then! Great idea, but I’ll be trying to get my own piles down in The TBR Double Dog Dare!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s definitely the disadvantage of buying books when they are published and not reading them straight away…The Goldfinch was such a hype that I ended up not reading it when everybody else was.

      I haven’t heard of the other challenge, but I’m sure it’s also a great way to downsize your TBR pile!

      Like

  4. That’s a really cool idea! I have so many unread books on my shelf that this might be a good way to check them off my TBR list. The Secret Garden is a wonderfully sweet story, btw. I read that when I was in middle school or high school, and I liked it then. 🙂

    Like

    • Yeah, I had the same problem… I’m always saying I need to read more books that have been on my TBR pile for a while, but I always end up reading new books. Maybe this challenge will help change that!

      Like

  5. Ooh, I loved The Metamorphosis! If I’m remembering correctly, it’s a pretty short story, so it shouldn’t take you too long to read! I loved reading The Catcher in the Rye in high school, so I would highly recommend working that onto your list as well. I’m also going to try to read The Goldfinch in the new year; can’t wait to hear what you think of it!

    Like

  6. Love this idea, thank you for posting it. I’ve already written my list down and I can’t wait. I’ve picked the ten oldest books on my Goodreads To Read list. Surely I can get ten of them read in the next year.
    Once again, thank you for the inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome! It sounds like the perfect challenge and excuse to finally read those oldest books, so I’m looking forward to start reading them next year. Good luck! 🙂

      Like

  7. Pingback: Dusting Off The Shelf 2015 Reading Challenge | It's All About Books

  8. Pingback: Month In Review: January 2015 | It's All About Books

  9. Pingback: Month In Review: February 2015 | It's All About Books

  10. Pingback: Month In Review: March 2015 | It's All About Books

  11. Pingback: Month In Review: April 2015 | It's All About Books

  12. Pingback: Month In Review: May 2015 | It's All About Books

  13. Pingback: Month In Review: June 2015 | It's All About Books

  14. Pingback: Month In Review: July 2015 | It's All About Books

  15. Pingback: Month In Review: August 2015 | It's All About Books

  16. Pingback: Month In Review: September 2015 | It's All About Books

    • I’m hoping to finish And The Mountains Echoed next week so I can finish this challenge… I haven’t been paying enough attention to it. Good luck with your challenge!

      Like

  17. Pingback: Month In Review: October 2015 | It's All About Books

  18. Pingback: Month In Review: November 2015 | It's All About Books

  19. Pingback: Month In Review: December 2015 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

