BOOK REVIEW: Treasure Island – by Robert Louis Stevenson

brtreasureisland

Title: Treasure Island
Author: Robert Louis Stevenson
Genre: Classics, YA, Historical Fiction
First published: 1883
Finished reading: May 24th 2015
Pages: 190
Rating 2

“It was Silver’s voice, and before I had heard a dozen words, I would not have shown myself for all the world. I lay there, trembling and listening, in the extreme of fear and curiostiy, for, in those dozen words, I understood that the lives of all the honest men aboard depended on me alone.”

myrambles1review

I wanted to like this classic pirate story by Robert Louis Stevenson so bad. A children story about pirates and a treasure hunt sounded like the perfect read, but unfortunately I ended up being quite disappointed by it. I was unable to warm up to the main characters and there is a significant lack of action during the whole novel. I mean, the story is supposed to be about a treasure hunt, but they all seem to talk more than they actually ‘hunt’. To be honest, I cannot see why Treasure Island would actually be considered children literature… I felt bored during most of the story (not counting the final chapters), so I wonder how children will be able to pay attention for so long. I didn’t mind the prose; that is what you expect when you start reading a classic written in the 19th century. Plus, with my kindle I was able to look up any old-fashioned words quickly anyway. But I did mind the characters and their sometimes less convincing actions. Taking Jim Hawkins for example: he sure is entitled to survive a lot of dangers for a boy his age! I know a lot of people love this classic and my opinion won’t be popular, but Treasure Island really just wasn’t for me.

shortsummary1review

Jim Hawkins is a very clever boy who ends up outsmarting a whole gang of dangerous pirates. When he gets his hands on a treasure map, he and local Doctor Livesy decide to go look for the treasure before the pirates that killed the original owner show up again. But the squire that works for the doctor doesn’t know how to keep his mouth shut, and soon they are in more trouble than they can imagine… As they board the ship that will take them to the island the treasure is hidden, the three don’t realize that half of the crew is made out of the same pirates they tried to run away from. Looking for the treasure won’t be as easy as they had originally planned…

finalthoughtsreview

I feel almost bad for not enjoying Treasure Island, but to be honest I had a hard time finishing this classic. I found especially the first part of the story quite boring and the characters didn’t exactly convince me. It could have been because I was expecting something different or because I had really high expectations, but I know one thing for sure: Treasure Island won’t be making it to my favorite classics list.

13 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Treasure Island – by Robert Louis Stevenson

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. Don’t worry, you don’t need to apologize for not liking a book…especially a classic! I feel like there’s so much “classics shaming” out there for people who don’t like certain classics, even though there were people who didn’t like them even when they were first printed.

    My blog revolves around the classics, and even I don’t like every single one. In fact, I made myself promise that I wouldn’t feature books I don’t like…I’m looking at you, Great Gatsby! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I guess you’re right; some classics just aren’t for everybody. I’ve had the same thing with some other classics I’ve read in the past… Although I had more problems with The Catcher In The Rye than with old Mr. Gatsby. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I think it’s great how we all get different thing from different books. It would be awful if we all liked the same things. I loved Treasure Island but I can see why it might not be to everyone’s taste. And there are many so-called classics that I simply can’t get through.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s the great thing about books! I always love reading all the different opinions out there; especially when it involves classics. A lot of people have very strong opinions when it comes to those… I have problems with some classics as well; I have been trying to start reading A Tale Of Two Cities for the last few months for example, but somehow I cannot get a feel for the story.

      Like

  7. Pingback: Month In Review: May 2015 | It's All About Books

    • That might be part of the problem, although I normally don’t mind books that are written for boys… I would prefer them over chicklits any day, but I guess Treasure Island just wasn’t for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

