The Reader Problems Tag

Reader Problems Tag

I have been wanting to do this tag for ages, but somehow it got lost between all my other unpublished posts. Sara @ SARA LETOURNEAU’S OFFICIAL WEBSITE & BLOG actually tagged me a month and a half ago, oops! Thanks again for tagging me, I haven’t forgotten! 😀 On to the questions about ‘problems’ readers might experience… 

Q: You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

tbrcupI guess this is a problem most of us have to deal with… I have over 200 titles on my TBR pile waiting to be read and it is getting seriously difficult to decide what to read next. I have been using my TBR jar a lot lately to pick my next reads, and joining challenges helps as well. Especially the Bookish Bingo challenges are really helpful because they give especific indications. I mostly read what I’m in the mood for though and have quite a few titles on my ‘need to read ASAP’ list. So many books, so little time…

Q: You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

It’s really hard for me to DNF a book, especially if I’m already halfway through it. I tend to give myself 50 pages or so to decide if I really don’t like it, but afterwards I normally force myself to finish it. I do tend to read other books in between so I don’t end up in a reading slump.

Q: The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your GoodReads challenge. Do you quit or commit?

I have been setting my Goodreads goals way too low during the last two years, so I normally don’t have that problem haha. But if I would have a similar situation, I would probably try hard to reach that goal. Although I wouldn’t be too upset if I didn’t reach it… I prefer enjoying my reads and not push myself too much.

Q: The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

I prefer having matching covers, but I have become more relaxed when it comes to book covers. Before I just HAD to have matching ones, now I will buy different covers if there is no other option.

Q: Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I guess that until now I’ve always found at least one other person with the same thoughts… But even if I’m the only one with a negative opinion I wouldn’t change it. Some books just aren’t for everybody.

Q: You’re reading a book and you’re about start crying in public. How do you deal?

I don’t think that will ever happen, because I hardly cry when I read and I don’t think I ever cried in public before. And no, my heart is not made of stone; I just show my emotions in a different way. 😉

Q: A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on GoodReads? Cry in frustration?

It depends of how much I’ve forgotten and how long ago I read the previous book. If I remember most of it I will probably reread my review or a summary, if not I will most likely end up rereading the book. That doesn’t happen often though.

Q: You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?

I don’t like borrowing my books, mostly because people always seem to ‘forget’ to return them and I have to keep asking about them. I don’t mind books in a condition that shows that they have been read (I love secondhand books!), but I do mind if they disappear completely. 😉

Q: You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over the reading slump?

If I’m in a reading slump and don’t like what I’m reading, I normally put all current reads on hold and try to find a book I really want to read (normally short and easy). If not, I reread one of my favorite books.

Q: There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I try to refrain myself from buying too many new titles at the same time, but it is hard to resist… I will probably try to wait until I read at least a few book reviews, but I always end up giving in anyway.

Q: After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?

That really depends on what mood I’m in and what I’m reading at the moment. Sometimes I read new books straight away, and sometimes they are left on my TBR shelves for a loooong time… It’s not that I’m not excited about them, but I have so many books I want to read as soon as possible that most end up collecting dust for months. Oops!

Nomination Time!

And I nominate… YOU!!! If you haven’t done this one and want to participate, feel free to do so! 😀

Have a great week everyone! ❤

10 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Tag

    • I guess that when I know a book is really sad I will probably just read it at home just in case… Although that doesn’t happen often. I don’t think it’s that embarrassing though; I guess some people are just more open with their emotions. 🙂

      Like

  1. I can relate to not being able to give up on a book even if you’re not enjoying it. I don’t think I’ve ever not finished a book. Even ones I’ve found really dull. I think I had to do what you say though and read another book at the same time to cheer myself up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think I might have DNFed a book or two when I was younger, but it hardly ever happens. I always think that things might improve later on in the book and if I don’t finish it I would miss that part. Reading books in between definitely helps though.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great answers, Yvonne! It looks like we have very similar habits in some areas. Like with the last question, I sometimes read new books right away, but other times they sit around for a while before I get to them. And I also rarely DNF books. I always have that hope for redemption, so I try to stick with it.

    No worries about the delay! There’s never any deadline with these tags. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I was browsing my unpublished posts yesterday and suddenly this tag showed up; I guess I’m not that organized after all haha. I have the same reason to not DNF a book; I always hope that things might get better later on and I prefer finding out if that’s the case. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Seems we have similar reading habits! I usually never DNF a book, no matter how much I dislike it. I might take a break from it, and read another book for a while, but I would always come back to it and finish it. XD I also don’t cry often when reading books! That’s why when I do it’s a rare occasion and I know for sure it’s a great book. ❤ (And even when I do, I don't like, you know, sob, and have a pool of tears at my feet or anything. It's more like I get all choked up and some tears slip out. LOL.) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha me too! I guess my tears are connected to my shy part, because I normally get all choked up like you without a mountain of tears appearing at the same time… Which is weird and some that have seen me cry actually accused me of faking it lol. And even when I really want to DNF a book, I end up finishing it anyway. Even if it takes me a whole year to reach that last page. 😉

      Like

  4. Oh, this is a good set of questions. I think i will steal this, thankyouplease.
    I enjoyed reading through your answers. Re-reading a favourite book when you’re in a slump is a good idea, i’d never throught of doing that before.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

