BOOK REVIEW: Cinder – by Marissa Meyer

brcinder

Title: Cinder
(The Lunar Chronicles #1)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Retelling
First published: January 3rd 2012
Finished reading: June 29th 2015
Pages: 390
Rating 5

“Vanity is a factor, but it is more a question of control. It is easier to trick others into perceiving you as beautiful if you can convince yourself you are beautiful. But mirrors have an uncanny way of telling the truth.”

myrambles1review

I’m not sure how to write this review without fangirling all over the place. As you might have guessed from the rating, I absolutely loved LOVED Cinder. This first book of The Lunar Chronicles has me seriously hooked and I will probably try to read the rest of the series before the end of this month. Marissa Meyer has a way of describing her invented world and characters that is simply mindblowing and I can’t wait to learn more about it in the sequels. I loved the main character and cyborg Cinder and most of the other characters were great as well. A huge bonus: no love triangle! That seriously made me love this series even more… I’m keeping my fingers crossed there won’t be any in the sequels either. This dystopian world full with androids, cyborgs and a mysterious plague is both interesting and makes you think about how far we can go with technology without reaching the limit… I would recommend Cinder to anyone who loves a good YA fantasy story!

shortsummary1review

A deadly plague has been slowly infecting the population of the Earth and they still haven’t found a cure. Humans and cyborgs alike can be affected, with only their androids assisting them once they have the plague. The royal investigators are trying to find a cure and they are using cyborgs as guinea pigs since those are seen as second-class citizens anyway. One of these cyborgs in New Beijing is Cinder… After a hoover accident doctors had to replace her leg and arm, losing not only her parents but also the respect of the society. She is a gifted mechanic, but her stepmother and most other humans can’t stand the sight of her. When her stepsister is infected by the plague, her stepmother blames Cinder and sends her away to volunteer for the cure trials. Nobody has ever survived those trials so far, but Cinder has a secret…

finalthoughtsreview

Cinder is roughly a retelling of the Cinderella story, although with quite a few twists. The main character Cinder is a cyborg and mechanic and can quite take care of herself. She does have an evil stepmother, but one of her stepsisters Peony is actually trying to be her friend… And Cinder does everything to protect her. Marissa Meyer has quite a few surprises in store, although I guessed right about Cinder’s past quite early on in the story. Still, I loved every single part of Cinder and I guess I’ve just added myself to the long list of The Lunar Chronicles fans out there. I’m already reading the sequel Scarlet!

33 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Cinder – by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  6. Congratulations, you’ve just started one of my favorite series of all time 🙂 I’m glad you liked it so much. In my opinion, the books just keep getting better and better as they go so you definitely have a lot to look forward to. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m currently reading Scarlet and it is awesome so far! I still can’t believe I’ve waited so long to start this series; I already know The Lunar Chronicles will be added to my list of all time favorite series. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m about 60% into Scarlet and I’m loving it so far. Cinder is just as awesome as ever and I love the whole new Scarlet/Wolf angle! Having read The Queen’s Army before I started Scarlet did help me understand more about Wolf’s character…

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Queen’s Army is supershort and not as good as the previous novellas… But it does give you an insight in how Wolf and his brother were trained. (Although they might discuss that later on in Scarlet or Cress…)

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have read Glitches, and I loved that one! I read it immediately after I read Cinder – Scarlet wasn’t out yet and I was already feeling deprived. I really like the prequel type books, I always feel like they add more depth to the story.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Glitches was my favorite, especially since it’s about Cinder’s past… The Little Android was interesting as well, although it didn’t really add anything to the main story.

        Like

  7. Awesome review, and it makes me want to read this soon rather than later! I knew I needed to read it at some point because everyone raves about it. I’m glad to see you rated it so highly!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was afraid The Lunar Chronicles might suffer from the overhyped syndrom, but I really loved reading Cinder. Great characters, interesting worldbuilding and no love triangle… Sounds like the perfect mix to me. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: 2015 End Of Year Book Survey | It's All About Books

  9. Pingback: Best of 2015: January – June | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

