BOOK REVIEW: Flux – by Orson Scott Card

brflux

Title: Flux
(Maps In A Mirror #2)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Genre: Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Fiction
First published: September 15th 1992
Finished reading: June 28th 2015
Pages: 288
Rating 3

“The future is his, and the present is yours, but the past belongs to me. I don’t know how far into the future his probability curves have taken him, but I can match him, step for step, century for century in the past.”

myrambles1review

When I was away on a trip two weeks ago I managed to forget to pack my kindle… But luckily there was a book exchange at the hostel we were staying at and I saw a copy of Flux collecting dust on their shelves. I have to admit I’ve never read any of Orson Scott Card’s work before, so I thought it was a great way of getting to know his work. Flux is actually a collection of seven short stories about humanity. He explores possible futures for the human race in different ways… Unfortunately, I cannot say I enjoyed all the short stories. Some were actually quite boring while others were on the gruesome side. I mean, A Thousand Deaths is about killing a convicted criminal over and over again and that isn’t exactly humane isn’t it?! In The Doghouse was actually quite funny; it’s about what would happen if dogs would be aliens. Overall it was entertaining enough for a weekend away, but I cannot say I was overwhelmed by the stories or that I actually would recommend reading it. I’m going to try and read a Orson Scott Card novel soon though so I can get a better idea of his writing style…

shortsummary1review

Flux is a collection of seven short stories that discuss possible futures for the human race:

# A Thousand Deaths: In this future the government can legally clone and then kill a convicted criminal various times until the criminal confesses in a way that they think is satisfactory…
# Clap Hands And Song: If you would be able to relive a moment of the past one last time, even if it would have consequences for the present or future, would you do it?
# Dogwalker: A cyberpunk story where someone is able to log into a government program.
# But We Try Not To Act On It: In this future the government has control even over what you can watch on TV and only they can decide if the TV can be turned off.
# I Put My Blue Genes On: The Earth is no longer inhabited and the aliens try to find out why.
# In The Doghouse: In this future the question is what would happen if dogs would actually be aliens…
# The Originist: The longest novella of the bunch. It’s set in Isaac Asimov’s Foundation universe and questions love and marriage among other things.

finalthoughtsreview

Flux was quite an ok read, but I don’t think this was the best read to get to know Orson Scott Card‘s work. The short stories were all quite different and it was hard to determine what was his ‘real’ writing style. The last novella is actually a fan fiction novella based on Isaac Asimov‘s Foundation universe, but since I haven’t read that one yet the references were lost. I guess Flux is a great read for Orson Scott Card fans, but I still think I should have started with a different novel instead.

5 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Flux – by Orson Scott Card

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

