BOOK REVIEW: Linger – by Maggie Stiefvater

brlinger

Title: Linger
(The Wolves Of Mercy Falls #2)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Fiction
First published: July 13th 2010
Finished reading: July 12th 2015
Pages: 360
Rating 3

“And some days I just can’t live with that. But I do. Because that’s life, Cole. Life’s pain. You just have to get over as much of it as you can.”

myrambles1review

To be honest, I wasn’t going to continue The Wolves Of Mercy Falls series any time soon. I wasn’t really impressed by the first book Shiver; it was too much like a sappy romance story for my taste and it seriously lacked action and more ‘credible’ werewolves. But since I promised myself to read a sequel for every new series I want to start and I already have a copy of both Linger and Forever, I decided to pick up my copy of the sequel anyway. Maggie Stiefvater uses the same easy-to-read prose and the pace is fast, but yet again I wasn’t convinced. I agree that overall the sequel is better than the first book and it actually has a few more convincing werewolves scenes. Still, there were way too many cheesy romance scenes included and let’s be honest: werewolves aren’t exactly supposed to be boyfriend material in the first place, right? I guess Twilight fans will probably love this series, but unfortunately I’m not one of them.

shortsummary1review

WARNING: do not read this summary if you haven’t read Shiver yet! It will most likely contain spoilers, even though I’ve made sure to keep it short.

Grace and Sam have finally found each other, but life is not that easy. They will have to fight to stay together as both their futures are not so certain… Sam used to be a werewolf and he is not so sure the cure actually works. And the werewolves that attacked Grace all those years ago might have left their mark afterall… Meanwhile, Sam has to take care of the new wolves as well now Beck probably won’t shift again, and that is not as easy now he doesn’t shift himself. Sam is not sure how to handle all of it… What will happen to Sam, Grace and the new wolves?

finalthoughtsreview

I can’t deny Maggie Stiefvater‘s prose is more than excellent. Unfortunately, I’m not really a fan of the story itself. It’s actually more of a cheesy romance story with a twist than a proper tale about werewolves. The worst part is that many of the ‘plot twists’ are actually quite predictable as well. Like I mentioned above, Twilight fans will probably love this series, but I ended up being disappointed by it. Definitely a case of not-for-me!

13 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Linger – by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  6. I’m on the same page as you are. I read the three books of the trilogy (I think there was one more later, maybe?), but liked each one less than the previous, if that makes any sense. I liked the 1st book and thought there were some interesting approaches to the concept that made it a bit different. But, all downhill from then on!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can understand that; what happened during the first two books is actually quite cliche. There is a fourth book (I think it’s named Sinner?), but I’m not sure if it’s part of the actual trilogy. I will read Forever since I already have the copy, but I don’t think I will buy the fourth book. If it’s anything like the rest of the series, it will probably a waste of money… 😉

      Like

  7. Pingback: Month In Review: July 2015 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

