WWW Wednesdays #49 – July 22nd

wwwwednesdaysOriginally featured at Should Be Reading and now hosted by Sam at Taking On A World Of Words, WWW WEDNESDAYS is still about answering the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?

thegoldfinchImagonia’ve finally made progress on The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt, and I’m definitely enjoying this read so far. Hopefully I will be able to finish it before the end of this month! I’m also finally reading Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley for The Book Club of the Opinionated Hufflepuffs…I’m not sure what to think of it so far though; I’m not convinced by the prose.

  • What did you recently finish reading?

314americosisI literally started and finished 314 by A.R. Wise on the same day. I was looking for another thriller/horror read after finishing Game by Barry Lyga on Sunday… I LOVED that book and needed another dose of scary. 314 is a fast read and surprisingly good; I wasn’t expecting too much after seeing it has quite a low Goodreads rating. Some parts are pretty messed up though! I’ve also finished reading Americosis by Haydn Wilks, a thriller/horror/sci-fi short story that was both disturbing and left me wanting for more…

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

thirteenreasonswhythescorchtrialsWhat to read next? I seriously don’t know… Masquerade by Kylie Fornasier is still high on my list as well as the TBR jar pick The Kings Of Cool by Don Winslow I got at the beginning of this month. But I will probably end up reading something completely different. Maybe Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher or even The Scorch Trials by James Dashner?

21 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #49 – July 22nd

    • Thirteen Reasons Why sounds like such an interesting read! Hopefully I will get to it soon. I wasn’t really a fan of The Maze Runner because of the characters and prose, but hopefully I will enjoy the sequels better.

      Like

  1. I’m glad you’re enjoying The Goldfinch! I want to try it…maybe. 😉

    Really curious what you’ll think about Thirteen Reasons Why. I haven’t read that one, but my best friend said it’s required reading next year in her daughter’s class. I believe she’s in 8th grade. Pretty heavy topic from what I gather.

    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Goldfinch is without doubt an intimidating book haha. It’s beautifully written, but sometimes it’s hard to stay focused on the story. I still have a long way to go before I finish it though. 😉
      Wow, Thirteen Reasons Why doesn’t really sound like an 8th grade topic… I will probably read it soon to see if it’s just as good as people keep telling me.

      Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thirteen Reasons Why was a really good read. I read it a few years ago when my good friend recommended it to me. It’s definitely a heavy book.
    I have had The Goldfinch on my Kindle for a very long time but have been a little nervous to give it a shot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good to know Thirteen Reasons Why is worth reading! I don’t think it will be one to read as the same time as The Goldfinch, but I will definitely try to read it soon. I like that one so far, but it demands a lot of attention. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I need to read Scorch Trials before the movie comes out but I wasn’t a big fan of Maze Runner so I’m skeptical. Let me know how it is! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope you enjoy Magonia by the end of it! I wasn’t convinced at first either but overall I would say I liked the book. 🙂 314 was one of the books I found a couple of months ago, and I’ve read several mixed reviews on it! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it though. I’m curious to see what you think of Thirteen Reasons Why & The Scorch Trials! I didn’t read Thirteen Reasons Why, but it’s on my TBR, however I did read The Scorch Trials. Happy reading! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wasn’t really convinced by Magonia either… The prose bothered me and the world with all the birds and flying ships was pretty weird. I wish I would have liked it better! 314 was a pretty good and creepy read; it’s free as well so no money lost if you don’t like it. 😉 I’ve started The Scorch Trials but I’m having the same problem with the ‘slang’ so far… It’s really annoying me. Hopefully things will get better! Have a great weekend! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, the world was pretty odd. I wish you did too! Oh well. To each his own, right? 😉 Oh, that’s great, lol, I’m not gonna refuse a free book! Ha ha I totally know what you mean, the slang can definitely get on the nerves. I hope it will get better for you! Thanks, you too! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

