BOOK REVIEW: The 5th Wave – by Rick Yancey

brthe5thwave

Title: The 5th Wave
(The 5th Wave #1)
Author: Rick Yancey
Genre: YA, Dystopia, Fantasy
First published: May 7th 2013
Finished reading: July 16th 2015
Pages: 592
Rating 2,5

“You know how sometimes you tell yourself that you have a choice, but really you don’t have a choice? Just because there are alternatives doesn’t mean they apply to you.”

myrambles1review

I have been wanting to start The 5th Wave series ever since I first heard about it last year, but somehow something always held me back. I know many people love this series and it had all the signs I would be one of them. Unfortunately, now I’ve read the first book I cannot exactly say I’m a fan. Don’t get me wrong, the first part of The 5th Wave was pretty awesome and definitely lived up to expectations. But then Cassie had to meet Evan. Le sigh. Why o why does a book like this need cheesy romance scenes?! I was completely convinced I was going to love this book, but the scenes between Evan and Cassie made me want to bang my head against the wall. Cassie is supposed to be a survivor and not trust anyone; then she meets Evan, trusts him almost immediately and even falls in love with him? Yeah right. The part where she meets Ben Parish and tries to get her little brother back is not really credible either. I guess I did like the general plot idea and the Rick Yancey‘s prose was pretty good as well. I will also most likely end up reading the sequel at some point, but I think I will have to get over my initial disappointment first…

shortsummary1review

The world as we knew it no longer exists. When the aliens first arrived nobody knew what they were planning… It turns out it was nothing good. After the 1st wave, the whole world went dark. The second wave killed a lot of people, and the third one even more. And now, after the 4th wave, only the true survivors are still alive. Their motto: trust no one. They are afraid there will be a 5th wave and the survivors are trying to find a place to hide. Cassie is one of them. She has also a different mission: find her little brother and save him from Them. She is not sure he is still alive; she is not even sure if there are other survivors out there. Beings that only look like humans have been hunting around the countryside killing off the last living humans for a while now… And Cassie feels she needs to stay alone to survive. But is that even possible?

finalthoughtsreview

I really wanted to love this book. I thought I did when I started reading The 5th Wave. But the cheesy romance scenes and sometimes not so credible plot ruined it for me. Rick Yancey writes in a way that is easy to read and the story has a fast pace, but I almost stopped reading every time I reached the scenes with Cassie and Evan. That’s a bad sign for a book I was supposed to love, right? I know a lot of people really enjoyed this series; I’m just not one of them.

15 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The 5th Wave – by Rick Yancey

  1. I definitely understand your reasons for not loving the 5th wave as much, but I definitely recommend you read the next book, the infinite sea. If your problem was the scenes between Cassie and Evan, the infinite sea lacks that! Personally, I thought the second book was much better!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s very good to know! At least now I know there is still hope for the sequel… I already have a copy, so I will probably end up reading somewhere during the next few months.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha! Couldn’t agree more! Evan’s chocolatey eyes and ’round butt’ just seemed so out of place – Hey! My whole family’s dead and the human race is under threat of horrible extinction, but gosh! That guy’s so hot! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha exactly! I know I’m never a romance fan, but normally I tend to tolerate those scenes as long as the make sense. In this case it was a complete mystery why these Evan and Cassie scenes are essential for the plot. (Other than making the main character even less credible. 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  8. YES YES AND YES ABOUT EVAN. I enjoyed the book but I found that Evan and Cassie’s romance was really annoying. I do remember thinking that it was odd that she trusted him so easily especially since he read really old to me. Like I felt like Evan was 40 years old or something. But after reading a bunch of other reviews it seems like I’m the only one that felt that….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mmm I wouldn’t exactly say 40, but he did seem older than Cassie… The fact that she trusted him almsot straight away and their romance were a huge turn off; without it I would probably have enjoyed The 5th Wave a lot better.

      Liked by 1 person

    • There’s no doubt that The 5th Wave is well written and I really enjoyed the chapters before Evan is introduced. I think that without the romance scenes between Evan and Cassie I would have enjoyed this book a lot better.

      Like

  9. Pingback: Month In Review: July 2015 | It's All About Books

  10. Pingback: Find Me Book Tag | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

