BOOK REVIEW: Magonia – by Maria Dahvana Headley

brmagonia

Title: Magonia
(Magonia #1)
Author: Maria Dahvana Headley
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
First published: April 28th 2015
Finished reading: July 22nd 2015
Pages: 320
Rating 2,5

“Death is the Santa Claus of the adult world. Except Santa Claus in reverse. The guy who takes all the presents away.”

myrambles1review

I’ve read this book together with The Book Club of the Opinionated Hufflepuffs. I remember the first time I saw this book mentioned and immediately falling in love with the cover. It’s so gorgeous! I was really looking forward to Magonia… But unfortunately I didn’t end up enjoying it as much as I thought I would. I had a hard time getting into the story. Part of the problem was the fact that I was expecting a fantasy story from the start, and the first few chapters are more of a YA contemporary novel. I wasn’t convinced by the characters and the prose really bothered me. I know a lot of people actually love Maria Dahvana Headley‘s writing style, but to me it felt somewhat forced and annoying to read. What’s with all the ( ) [ ] anyway? As far as the worldbuilding goes: I do admit it is very creative and it shows she spent a lot of time creating Magonia. Unfortunately, I was mostly weirded out by the whole descriptions. I mean, a bird flying down the main character’s throat and then nestling inside her lung? Flying ships and half-birds singing to get things done? Not really my cup of tea. I guess Magonia might be one of those books you either love or hate… And I don’t think I belong to the first group.

shortsummary1review

Ever since she was little Aza Ray has suffered from a mysterious lung disease that makes it very hard to even breathe properly. They didn’t expect her to live that long, but now she is almost sixteen years old and still holding on. When she thinks she sees a ship in the sky, people believe it’s just a side effect of her medication. But Aza doesn’t think it’s a hallucination; she actually heard someone calling out for her from the ship. Only her best friend Jason seems to believe her, but it seems to be too late… As her lungs doesn’t seem to want to breathe no longer. Can she still be saved? And what about that flying ship? And the myths about Magonia?

finalthoughtsreview

Magonia sounded so good when I first learned about it, but unfortunately I ended up not enjoying it that much. The only reason I haven’t given it a lower rating is because of the quite impressive worldbuilding. Maria Dahvana Headley spent a serious amount of time creating the world of Magonia and it shows in the details. It doesn’t take away the fact that I was mostly weirded out by the whole bird and flying ship situation and the fact that I didn’t like the main characters doesn’t really help either. And the prose… Some people might like it, but I was mostly just annoyed by it. I really wanted to like this one! But I guess you can’t always get what you wish for…

11 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Magonia – by Maria Dahvana Headley

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  6. It’s too bad you didn’t enjoy this that much. I do get where you’re coming from though, this book is definitely something that’s more of a personal taste kind of thing. I agree, the bird thing did weird me out as well, although I did get more used to it by the end of the novel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, it looks like this one is a story that simply isn’t for everyone… I wasn’t convinced myself, but I will probably still read the sequel at some point after it’s published to see if I can get used to the world. The author sure put a lot of effort in creating Magonia!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Month In Review: July 2015 | It's All About Books

  8. Pingback: 2015 End Of Year Book Survey | It's All About Books

  9. Pingback: Cover Characteristic #5 – July 3rd | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

