The Ultimate Book Tag

theultimatebooktag

I hope everybody had a great weekend! About two weeks ago I was tagged by Dancing Through The Pages to do The Ultimate Book Tag and it sounded like a fun one to do. Thanks again for the tag! 😀 So here we go…


1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Fortunately enough no. I might get a headache when I read too long, but that mostly doesn’t have anything to do with me being in a car and more with me forgetting to use my reading glasses. 😀

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Mmm difficult question! Is it bad that I cannot think of a really good example right now? Most authors have their own unique writing style and I can’t pick any favorites.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Do you even have to ask? Harry Potter, OBVIOUSLY! I’m a Harry Potter fan all the way… Because 1. It was such a struggle to even read Twilight in the first place and I still don’t know how I’ve managed to even finish it. 2. I grew up reading Harry Potter and it’s probably one of my favorite childhood series. 3. The worldbuilding, characters, prose… J.K. Rowling really knows how to write a story that will stay for you for a long time and that you never get tired of rereading.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?

I used to when I was in high school and attending uni… Now I mostly read at home or take my kindle with me when I go out.

5. Do you smell your books?

I love smelling books, especially when they are secondhand! Nothing smells better than a secondhand bookstore… Although I love the smell of new books as well. 😀

6. Books with or without little illustrations.

It depends on the story I guess. I like them as long as they add something to the story, but if they are unnecessary they only end up distracting me.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

I remember I enjoyed reading Dan Brown’s books in high school, but I’ve reread them later on I wasn’t really impressed. Quality writing is really hard to define though; those who normally read adult literature will probably not appreciate YA novels, but I wouldn’t exactly call them without quality. Really hard question!

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

My mind is drawing a blank here… No funny stories as far as I remember. I guess I was a true Matilda when I was younger, going to the library and checking out way to many books at the time. I’ve probably read most of the children section back when I was little! I loved books written by Roald Dahl and Astrid Lindgren, and also Dutch authors like Annie M.G. Schmidt, Paul Van Loon and Jan Terlouw. I actually wrote a letter to Paul Van Loon at some point and got a letter back with autograph and everything! 😀

9. What is the tinniest book on your shelf?

Probably one of the many novellas that are part of a series…

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

That will most likely be one of George R.R. Martin’s books; A Storm Of Swords. With over 1.100 pages, it sure is a thick book. 😉

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I used to write poems and started a story at my other blog Ponderings On Life, but I haven’t written anything in over three years. During my high school school I was in the process of creating my own children series… But I ended up abandoning it when I moved abroad.

12. When did you get into reading?

I have been reading ever since I was little and never stopped loving it… Although I have been reading a lot more during the last few years.

13. What is your favourite classic book?

It’s hard to pick only one favorite, so I’ve decided to cheat and divide my favorites into different genres: My favorite dystopian classics would be Fahrenheit 451 and 1984, my favorite mystery classic And Then There Were None and my favorite historical fiction classic To Kill A Mockingbird. The Diary Of Anne Frank is one of my favorite memoirs…

14. In school what was your best subject?

I admit I was a true nerd in high school! My best subjects were Spanish, Chemistry and Management & Organization… A mix of language, science and numbers. My favorite subject was Spanish though, because I love the language and I was able to read and watch movies during class! 😀

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

I guess it depends on who gave it to me in the first place, but I will most likely say that I’ve already read it and when they ask my opinion I will say something vage to not hurt their feelings.

16. (No clue what happened to this question but apparently it disappeared)

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

I’m what you call a professional procrastinator and I’m almost always behind with my reviews and other posts… Especially tags tend to get lost between all my other drafts. I have been trying to keep up with at least my reviews lately though! 😉

18. What is your favorite word?

Mmm dificult… I don’t think I have a favorite word in English. My favorite Spanish one is ‘ovni’ though. (UFO) 😀

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

Is there a big difference between the three? I feel dumb for not knowing haha. I normally call myself a nerd when I refer to my high school period…

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

I’m really sick of all those poorly done vampire stories with not-scary vampires, so I pick fairies. They are interesting characters and I loved the last book with fairies (A Court Of Thorns And Roses!)

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

A tricky one, but I think I prefer angels. Especially after reading the first two books of the Penryn & The End Of Days series; I love that series!

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Definitely spìrits! Ghost stories are scary, and I still have to read a good werewolves story.

23. Zombies or Vampires? Why?

I’m not a fan of either, but it is easier to find a story where the zombies at least are somewhat credible (read scary).

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Neither! I’m really not a romance fan and both are a mayor turn off for any book I read. If I HAVE to pick one, I guess I prefer forbidden love. I’m suffering from a YA love triangle overdose already!

25. And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Can it also be action without romance? For me the less romance a story has, the better… Although I don’t mind a romance scene or two as long as they add to the story.

 


Feel free to join the fun if you liked this tag! Have a great last five days of July everyone! ❤

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. No problem! I loved your answers, especially the one about your favorite word. Ovni is now a new part of my very limited Spanish vocabulary and I will utilize this new word in my Spanish 4 adventures next semester lol.
    Yeah I did think that trying to differentiate between the three words was kinda difficult but I answered the same way. I usually refer to myself as a dork so that would be my answer haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So jealous you don’t get car sick. I can’t even look at any text in a car or I get ill… must invest in audio books!
    And it’s weird, but I don’t have one favourite English word, but do have a Spanish favourite: libélula… it just sounds so wonderful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Audiobooks sound like the best option for long rides, although somehow I can’t get used to the voices of the narrators. I’ve tried listening to a few audiobooks, but I prefer reading the story myself. 😉 Libelula is a great word as well! I guess using mostly Spanish every day makes it easier to come up with a favorite Spanish word… Although with the amount of English books I’m reading it’s kinda weird I don’t have a favorite English word.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

