BOOK REVIEW: The Truth About Alice – by Jennifer Mathieu

brthetruthaboutalice

Title: The Truth About Alice
Author: Jennifer Mathieu
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Fiction
First published: June 3rd 2014
Finished reading: July 23rd 2015
Pages: 209
Rating 2

“There is one thing I’ve learned about people: they don’t get that mean and nasty overnight. It’s not human nature. But if you give people enough time, eventually they’ll do the most heartbreaking stuff in the world.”

myrambles1review

I’ve had The Truth About Alice on my TBR ever since it came out last year, but somehow I was hesitant to pick it up. I’ve heard mixed things about it and to be honest I wasn’t sure I was going to like this read… Turns out I was right. The Truth About Alice is basically about a bunch of teenage drama queens who spread rumors about Alice, and then you slowly find out what really happened and why they invented the rumors. The characters weren’t exactly likeable and you don’t hear from Alice until the very last chapter. (I guess that chapter is what saved this book a bit for me.) Jennifer Mathieu writes in a way that is easy to read and the pace is fast, but I felt myself not really caring about what was happening to the characters. You read the story from the point of view of different characters and learn what really happened through their eyes. The problem is that three of them are mostly annoying teenage wannabes (Elaine, Kelsie and Josh) and their ‘secrets’ are not interesting at all. The chapters with Kurt are refreshing; at least he has an interesting personality. But overall this was mostly a boring read with flat characters that could have been summarized by only reading the last chapter.

shortsummary1review

According to the rumors, Alice Franklin is what you call a true slut. Everybody knows that she slept with two guys at one and the same party. And everybody knows she was writing dirty texts to Brandon at the moment he crashed his car and died. Everybody knows, so the rumors must be true right? The bathroom stall at their high school is full of messages that show what the students really think of Alice and things are getting out of control… Four Healy High students will tell what they know, but what is the truth about Alice? What really happened?

finalthoughtsreview

I should have known The Truth About Alice wouldn’t be for me. I’m not a fan of high school drama and that is what this novel is all about. At least it’s a quick read, but I honestly didn’t care about the characters or about the truth about Alice… Which is kind of the whole point of this book. Well, at least now I know, right? Fans of YA contemporary and those who don’t mind annoying ‘popular’ high school students as main characters might still enjoy this read, but I wouldn’t recommend it myself.

15 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Truth About Alice – by Jennifer Mathieu

    • I guess it’s one of those books you either love or hate… Unfortunately I wasn’t a fan, but I hope you will enjoy it better if you decide to read it.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

    • I initially gave it a higher rating as well, but the longer I thought about it, the more I came to realize I really didn’t like The Truth About Alice. The plot is just too predictable and the characters didn’t help either.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Aw that sucks! I actually really liked the way this one was written because it gave off a theme that everybody has a different view of what happened because of the situation in which they are. I can see how the characters were unlikable though because I personally didn’t like any of them except for Alice and the nerd (I don’t remember his name). Plus I love the cover so that probably helped.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alice and Kurt were the only characters that felt at least a bit ‘real’, the rest of them were mostly stereotypes… It is true that the idea of reading about differents views of what happened is quite interesting, but unfortunately I wasn’t overly impressed by the ‘secrets’ they revealed. I love the cover though!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Month In Review: July 2015 | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Cover Characteristic #4 – June 19th | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

