BOOK REVIEW: Cress – by Marissa Meyer

brcress

Title: Cress
(The Lunar Chronicles #3)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Retelling
First published: February 4th 2014
Finished reading: August 3rd 2015
Pages: 550
Rating 5

“Maybe there isn’t such a thing as fate. Maybe it’s just the opportunities we’re given, and what we do with them. I’m beginning to think that maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.”

myrambles1review

I have loved The Lunar Chronicles ever since I started the first book and they just keep getting better. I love that every book seems to be a retelling of a different fairy tale; with of course those important main characters reappearing in every book. Cress is both about Cinder and her friends trying to escape Queen Levana and finding a way to stop her AND a Rapunzel retelling. Cress is such an adorable character! She is also a kickass hacker and able to survive on a planet she has never been on before, which shows she really earned being the title of this third book. Marissa Meyer‘s prose is as brilliant as ever and combined with a fast pace and many plot twists it is really hard to stop reading. This is probably one of the best fantasy series I’ve read this year and I can’t wait to read Winter when it comes out this November. Luckily I still have Fairest to read to make the wait for the fourth book less painful!

shortsummary1review

WARNING: do not read this summary if you haven’t read the first two books in the series yet! It will most likely contain spoilers, even though I’ve made sure to keep it short.

Cinder and Captain Thorne are still on the run and Scarlet, Wolf and Iko have joined them since. They are trying to find a way to stop Queen Levana from marrying Kai and taking over Earth with her army… Which is not as easy as they had originally planned. But they find out that they have someone on their side who is very useful: a Lunar shell named Cress. She has been working for Sybil and Queen Levana against her will, and is trying to save Cinder and her friends… If only they save her first from the satellite where they keep her prison. Will they be able to rescue Cress in time and think of a plan to stop the wedding?

finalthoughtsreview

I know there has been a huge hype around this series for ages now, but in this case it’s all worth it. Cress is, like the first two books, brilliantly written. The main characters, worldbuilding, prose… Everything works perfectly together and the fact that each book is a different retelling makes me love this series even more. I’m glad I’ve finally picked up this series and I will be waiting impatiently for the fourth book to come out. If you haven’t read this series yet and enjoy a good YA fantasy story, I suggest you pick up The Lunar Chronicles. You won’t be sorry!

16 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Cress – by Marissa Meyer

      • I’m the same way when it comes to young adult romance but they are just so sweet! I wish I could feel the same about Kai and Cinder but I think Winter will seal the deal on that one!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I totally agree; I enjoyed their relationship a lot better than Kai and Cinder so far… But who knows, Winter might just change that. Kai only just found out she is the lost princess after all. 😉

        Like

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

      • Haha I know the feeling! I ended up getting an e-copy… I’ve only just started it, but Levana isn’t one of my favorite characters so I’m not enjoying it as much as the main series. We’ll see how things go a bit further into the story though. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Month In Review: August 2015 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

