BOOK REVIEW: Forever – by Maggie Stiefvater

brforever

Title: Forever
(The Wolves Of Mercy Falls #3)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Fiction
First published: July 12th 2011
Finished reading: August 4th 2015
Pages: 388
Rating 3

“People shouldn’t have to earn kindness. They should have to earn cruelty.”

myrambles1review

To be honest, I wasn’t really looking forward to read this final book of The Wolves Of Mercy Falls trilogy. The first two books didn’t exactly convince me. They were too much of a cheesy romance story and the wolves weren’t scary OR convincing. I guess Twilight fans will probably really enjoy this series by Maggie Stiefvater, but I myself prefer to have my supernatural creatures creepy and dangerous as they should be. Forever was, like the first two books, full of the sappy relationship between Grace and Sam. Werewolf falling for a human; then werewolf turns into human and human into werewolf… And their love is able to survive anyway. Not only tacky, but I’m still having problems with the fact that Grace fell in love with a werewolf in the first place. I mean, they aren’t exacty perfect boyfriend material in the first place, right? I guess the only reason I gave Forever three stars is the scene where the wolves try to escape and those were Cole is trying to figure out a cure. Those were at least kind of interesting. Sure, the prose is easy to read and the pace is fast, but the romance scenes were a huge turn off. But I guess that if you enjoyed Shiver and Linger, you will probably like Forever as well.

shortsummary1review

WARNING: do not read this summary if you haven’t read the first two books in the series yet! It will most likely contain spoilers, even though I’ve made sure to keep it short.

When Grace and Sam first met, Sam was a wolf. They fell in love anyway, and Sam was able to find a way to stay human forever. Or at least he thought it was a cure… And they were happy together as long as it lasted. But Grace got sick and the only way to prevent her death is giving in to the poison inside her. Grace wasn’t meant to stay human, and now she is a wolf. But being a wolf in Mercy Falls isn’t as safe anymore as Culpepper is about to avenge his son’s death by organizing a hunt to kill all the wolves of Mercy Falls… And Sam, Isabel and Cole will have to find a way to save the wolves. Will they succeed in time?

finalthoughtsreview

Forever was a not so expectacular end to a not that interesting series. Don’t get me wrong, I really loved Maggie Stiefvater‘s prose and I will read more of her work in the future. But this series just didn’t do it for me. There are too many romance scenes involved to my taste; the story could have been much more interesting with more realistic werewolves. If you compare the three books, I honestly feel the author could have told the story in about half the words by just leaving out a lot of innecessary and sappy romantic dialogues… Although I know a lot of people probably think otherwise. In short, if you are a YA romance and fantasy fans and don’t mind not so realistic werewolves, you will probably love this series. But I don’t think I will revisit Mercy Falls OR read the fourth book and stand alone Sinner any time soon.

8 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Forever – by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Month In Review: August 2015 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

