BOOK REVIEW: The Wrath And The Dawn – by Renee Ahdieh

brthewrathandthedawn

Title: The Wrath And The Dawn
(The Wrath And The Dawn #1)
Author: Renee Ahdieh
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Retelling
First published: May 12th 2015
Finished reading: August 13th 2015
Pages: 404
Rating 3,5

“Love is a force unto itself, sayyidi. For love, people consider the unthinkable…and often achieve the impossible. I would not sneer at its power.”

myrambles1review

l have been debating for the last week on how to rate this novel. I cannot deny I enjoyed the second part of The Wrath And The Dawn, but it took me a really long time to get a proper feel for the story. I had a hard time remembering all the foreign names and places and it was just hard to get into the story in general. I actually started reading this novel by Renee Ahdieh three times before actually deciding to continue and finish it… This surely isn’t a good sign. I’ve thought about giving it a lower rating, but I don’t think it would do justice to the quite impressive worldbuilding, interesting characters and prose. Once you get used to the world The Wrath And The Dawn is set in, it is truly a delightful A Thousand And One Nights retelling. The only minor drawback of the second part would be the cliffhanger at the end… With the expected publish date for the sequel set in May 2016, it sure is a long and painful wait to find out what happens next to the main characters. Would I suggest reading this one? Probably, although it might be better to wait until the sequel is published…

shortsummary1review

Khalid is the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan and many people think he is a monster. Every night he takes a new bride and every dawn he kills them with a silk cord wrapped around her throat without explanation… After Shahrzad’s best friend becomes one of his victims, she decides she wants to kill Khalid to avenge the dead women… And she volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined to stay alive and end the suffering of the people of Khorasan. She enchants the king with her stories when he comes to her chamber night after night, knowing that each dawn could be her last… But it seems that Khalid isn’t quite the monster she had imagined him to be. What will happen to them? And why did Khalid kill his brides in the first place?

finalthoughtsreview

I have to be honest and say I finished The Wrath And The Dawn mostly because I joined Bibliophile Gathering‘s read along this month; I don’t think I would have continued reading to the point I started to enjoy this novel otherwise. The Wrath And The Dawn has a really slow start and the many foreign names and places make it hard to get a proper feel for the story. I’m glad I decided to continue though, because I really enjoyed the second part. For those who are struggling to start this novel: try to give it a chance, it does get a lot better after a while! But it definitely wasn’t as good as I was hoping for…

19 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Wrath And The Dawn – by Renee Ahdieh

  1. One of my wish list books, that I almost purchased on my Kindle this week. I decided to wait and get a physical copy later on when the price goes down. Glad you enjoyed it by the end. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Wrath is an interesting read, although not as good as I hoped. Waiting a while doesn’t actually sound bad; that way you won’t be waiting that long for the sequel to come out…

      Like

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

    • I should probably have done the same thing. I hate waiting for so long for the sequel to come out and I’m not sure I want to reread The Wrath And The Dawn soon… The beginning is just very slow.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I felt like this book was a solid three stars. It was a unique retelling, but I had some issues with the main character. I found the “I want to kill him, but I love him” internal monologue to be be really annoying.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree, that part was quite annoying. She was so convinced in the beginning that she wanted to kill him, then falls in love and doesn’t know what to do… I found Tariq pretty annoying as well. I definitely expected more of this book!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Month In Review: August 2015 | It's All About Books

  9. Pingback: 2015 End Of Year Book Survey | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

