Bout Of Books 14 – Wrap It Up!

bob14-200x200

The Bout Of Books 14 read-a-thon has now officially ended and it’s time to review the numbers. (Participant nr. 35) I managed to finish Anatomy Of A Misfit by Andrea Port yesterday and bring the total to no less than TEN books. I’ve also read 42% of All Fall Down by Ally Carter… Remember I made a TBR last Sunday with ten titles saying that I wasn’t pretending that I was actually able to read ten books? I guess I was wrong haha. Two of them are actually novellas, but still with over 2.900 pages in one week I’m not complaining. 😉 I didn’t exactly follow my original TBR, although I managed to read 5 out of 10 books on the list… And I will start reading The Girl On The Train later today or tomorrow.  All in all I guess this read-a-thon was a great success!  Woohoo! 😀 😀

bobday7update

  • DAY 7: SUNDAY AUGUST 23rd

# Pages read today: 306 (Anatomy Of A Misfit) + 134 (All Fall Down)
# Total pages read: 2.939
# Book started: All Fall Down by Ally Carter
# Book continued: Anatomy Of A Misfit by Andrea Port
# Books finished: Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher // The Martian by Andy Weir // Fairest by Marissa Meyer // My Heart And Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga // The Death Cure by James Dashner // Joyland by Stephen King // The Geography Of You And Me by Jennifer E. Smith // Me And Earl And The Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews // Never Never Part Two by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher //  Anatomy Of A Misfit by Andrea Port

BOOKS I’VE READ:

nevernever1. Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher. I’ve had my eyes on this novella for a while now and decided to pick it as my first read-a-thon read to get things going. I’m seriously intrigued by this story and that cliffhanger ending! Lucky for me I had the sequel waiting for me on my kindle.

themartian2. The Martian by Andy Weir. A lot of people have been reading this one lately and I can definitely understand why. This book is simply brilliant and without doubt one of my favorite reads so far this year. The plot, main character, prose… I loved every single bit of it even though I’m normally not really into stories set in space.

fairest3. Fairest by Marissa Meyer. To make the wait for Winter a little less painful, I decided to read this one next. Levana is not one of my favorite characters, but I ended up enjoying it anyway because the writing is just as good as the rest of the series. It also gives you some idea of what might happen in the fourth book…

myheartandotherblackholes4. My Heart And Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga. I’ve had my eyes on this one ever since I first heard about it, and not just because of the beautiful cover. I’m glad I finally read it, because it was just as good as I was hoping for. Interesting characters, prose, plot… And the author described depression really well.

thedeathcure5. The Death Cure by James Dashner. I’m trying to finish some of the series on my TBR and decided to read this one based on this exact reason. I’m not a big fan of The Maze Runner trilogy, and I found this last book even less satisfying than the first two. I felt it lacked a proper plot and I wasn’t a fan of the ending…

joyland6. Joyland by Stephen King. It’s been a while since I’ve read any of his work and I’ve had a copy of this one on my shelf for a while now, so I decided to read it. I loved the 1973 carnival setting and the prose was interesting as always. I didn’t see the ending coming for sure! An entertaining read with a fast pace and just the right dose of paranormal.

thegeographyofyouandme7. The Geography Of You And Me by Jennifer E. Smith. This one was my newest TBR jar pick I decided to read straight away. It took me way too long to read the last one, so I wanted to make up for it. It was an ok read, but not as good as I thought it would be… I liked the idea of postcards and everything, but some scenes just were too cheesy for me.

meandearlandthedyinggirl8. Me And Earl And The Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews.  I’ve heard mixed things about this read and I can understand why. I’m still not sure if I like it or not myself… This book is highly original when it comes to both plot, prose and characters and is about as far away as the typical The Fault In Our Stars cancer-themed stories as you can get. But I’m not sure the humor didn’t go too far at points… Or if I actually liked some of the main characters.

neverneverparttwo9. Never Never Part Two by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher. I couldn’t wait any longer and had to read the second part next. This part was even better than the first and unfortunately ended with a big cliffhanger as well. And now the painful wait for the third part starts to find out what is going on with the main characters… Because I honestly don’t have a clue.

anatomyofamisfit10. Anatomy Of A Misfit by Andrea Portes. I wasn’t sure what to read next and then my eyes fell on this novel. I’ve had it on my TBR for a while now and it ended up to be ok. I didn’t exactly like most characters and the fact that it’s yet another YA novel with an annoying love triangle is actually quite frustrating. The ending felt a bit forced as well.

 

I hope you all had a great time during this read-a-thon!  😀

5 thoughts on “Bout Of Books 14 – Wrap It Up!

  1. Pingback: Bout Of Books 15.0 – Wrap It Up! | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

