Teaser Tuesdays #57 – August 25th: The Girl On The Train

teasertuesdays

TEASER TUESDAYS is a weekly book meme originally featured at A Daily Rhythm. To participate, just open the book you are currently reading to a random page, and choose two ‘teaser’ sentences from somewhere on that page. (no spoilers!)

You might think: ‘Wait a minute, you haven’t read this book yet even after the huge hype around it and it’s also one of your favorite genres?!’. I guess this is probably one of the main reasons I have been afraid to read The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins. This book has been literally EVERYWHERE since it came out and broke all kinds of records already… And that makes me really hesitant to pick it up. Especially since I ended up quite disappointed by Gone Girl; a book that had a similar hype going on. But I’ve finally given in and started reading…

thegirlonthetraingoodreadsblurb

My teaser (19%):

“It’s ridiculous, when I think about it. How did I find myself here? I wonder where it started, my decline; I wonder at what point I could have halted it. Where did I take the wrong turn?”

 

What are you reading right now?

20 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays #57 – August 25th: The Girl On The Train

    • Yeah, I have been having this problem with a lot of hyped books lately… I’m not too far into the story yet, but so far I’m not really convinced. Hopefully things get better later on!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I normally try to stay away from hyped books, but since this one belongs to one of my favorite genres I decided to give it a go anyway. Happy reading!

      Like

    • Yeah, I was going to read it next year as well, but I decided to give it a go anyway… I started it with low expectations so hopefully I won’t be as disappointed as with Gone Girl.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve heard sooo many good things about this book and the teaser does really intrigue me! On the other hand I’m slightly hesitant because every book that has a major hype around it has tended to disappoint me a little bit! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great week!
    My Tuesday post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Like

    • Yeah, I have been having the same problem a lot lately. I’m still not that far into The Girl On The Train, but hopefully it will turn out to be an exception. 😉
      Have a great week!

      Like

    • It’s good to hear I’m not the only one! 😉 So far it’s interesting, although it’s too early to decide if it really lives up to the hype… Hopefully I will be able to read more of it tonight!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m back to listening to this one and am determined to finish it this week. I kind of got stuck there for awhile–not time to listen. I am really enjoying it so far, although I had my doubts at one point towards the middle. It’s picked up again and I’m quite anxious to see what happens.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, you’re a bit further down with the book; I’ve only read about the first 10%. Good to know it picks up after the middle! That way I’ll make sure to keep reading so I will able to finish it this week as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

