BOOK REVIEW: The Death Cure – by James Dashner

brthedeathcure

 Title: The Death Cure
(The Maze Runner #3)
Author: James Dashner
Genre: YA, Science Fiction, Dystopia
First published: October 11th 2011
Finished reading: August 20th 2015
Pages: 325

Rating 2

“I don’t think there is a right or wrong anymore. Only horrible and not-quite-so-horrible.”

myrambles1review

To be honest, I mostly read The Death Cure because I want to start finishing series and not because I was actually looking forward to it. I didn’t really enjoy the first two books and now I’ve read the last one I can’t say I was impressed by it either. I felt The Death Cure lacked a proper plot and I wasn’t a big fan of the ending. It just felt too forced and it kind of came out of the blue; I guess The Maze Runner series is yet another one that suffers from the disappointing-third-book-syndrome. James Dashner‘s prose was still filled with the annoying slang that bothered me in the previous books. The pace is pretty fast, but due to the lack of plot it took me longer than usual to finish The Death Cure. I’m glad I’ve finally finished this series (although still have to read The Kill Order), but I can’t say I would actually recommend reading it. I just feel there are way better dystopian series out there…

shortsummary1review

WARNING: do not read this summary if you haven’t read the first two books of the series yet! It will most likely contain spoilers, even though I’ve made sure to keep it short.

WICKED has been playing with Thomas his mind ever since he woke up in the maze; slowly taking away everything from him. His memories, his life, his friends… But they promised the trials would be over, just one final test and Thomas and his friends would be free to do as they wish. What WICKED doesn’t know is that Thomas remembers quite a few things; enough for him not to trust them at all. But who can he trust? And can he really afford to keep escaping the truth and save his friends at the same time? Things are about to get even more complicated…

finalthoughtsreview

The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials were still somewhat enjoyable despite the problems I had with them, but The Death Cure is definitely my least favorite of the bunch. In addition to the annoying slang and characters I don’t really like, the third book also doesn’t really have a clear plot and the ending doesn’t actually make sense. I’m not sure I will start another James Dashner series any time soon: there are too many series out there I still want to read and the prose, plot and characters of The Maze Runner series have never fully convinced me.

10 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Death Cure – by James Dashner

  1. Agree completely! The characters just ramble about looking for things to do and then the ending happens in about 10 pages, leaving you thinking, “What?! Three books and that’s it?!” But I suppose at least I could have the satisfaction of ending a series… (silver linings).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, exactly! The ending was basically a huge anticlimax and really expected something a bit more organized… But I agree, at least now I’ve managed to finish another series this year. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Month In Review: August 2015 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

