BOOK REVIEW: The Geography Of You And Me – by Jennifer E. Smith

brthegeographyofyouandme

Title: The Geography Of You And Me
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
First published: April 15th 2014
Finished reading: August 21st 2015
Pages: 337
Rating 2,5qqq

“Maybe they were never meant to have more than just one night. After all, not everything can last. Not everything is supposed to mean something.”

myrambles1review

It took me way too long to read the previous TBR jar pick and I wanted to make up for it, so I read The Geography Of You And Me almost straight after using my TBR jar. I wasn’t looking forward to it, mostly because I’m not a big fan of (contemporary) romance and I wasn’t sure this read would be for me… And I guess I turned out to be right. It was ok read, but not as good as I thought it would be even after starting out with low expectations. I liked the idea of the postcards and the fact both main characters traveled a lot, but some of the scenes just were too cheesy for me. Jennifer E Smith’s prose is easy to read and I’m sure romance fans will love this read, but I have to be honest and say I wasn’t convinced by the insta-love between Lucy and Owen and the fact they keep in touch even after so long. I’m not saying long-distance relationships don’t work (my relationship with my hubby started out that way), but I what happens between Lucy and Owen is just too far fetched. The Geography Of You And Me is most likely a typical case of not-for-me though; I’ve heard a lot of people actually love this book.

shortsummary1review

Lucy and Owen first meet in a very unlikely place: inside an elevator between the tenth and eleventh floor of a New York apartment building. A mayor blackout left the whole city without electricity and the two are trapped inside… When they are rescued, they decide to get to know each other better and spend the night together. They wander the streets and sleep under the stars on the apartment building’s roof… But the next day Lucy wakes up alone. And once the power is restored, everything goes back to normal. It seems like Lucy and Owen never had a chance, because Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents and Owen heads west with his father… Will they be able to stay in touch against all odds and let their relationship grow? Will they ever meet again?

finalthoughtsreview

I loved the travel theme in The Geography Of You And Me and with its fast pace and easy prose I was able to finish it in no time at all. Unfortunately, I didn’t exactly enjoy the story that much. I’m not a big fan of romance in general and this read just was way too cheesy for me. Although I’m sure contemporary romance fans will probably love this read! The Geographu Of You And Me is probably one of those novels where the problem is me, not the novel…

9 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Geography Of You And Me – by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. Aw shame you didn’t like it! I haven’t read it (not sure if I’m interested in the plot), but I understand not being convinced by insta-love! I never am haha. Crush on first sight, sure, but if characters are madly in love with each other after only knowing each other for a few hours, it just feels unrealistic to me!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Find Me Book Tag | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

