BOOK REVIEW: The Goldfinch – by Donna Tartt

brthegoldfinch

Title: The Goldfinch
Author: Donna Tartt
Genre: Contemporary, Fiction
First published: October 22nd 2013
Finished reading: August 31st 2015
Pages: 771
Rating 3qqq

“And as much as I’d like to believe there’s a truth beyond illusion, I’ve come to believe that there’s no truth beyond illusion. Because, between ‘reality’ on the one hand, and the point where the mind strikes reality, there’s a middle zone, a rainbow edge where beauty comes into being, where two very different surfaces mingle and blur to provide what life does not: and this is the space where all art exists, and all magic.”

myrambles1review

I’ve had a copy of The Goldfinch on my TBR shelf pretty much ever since it came out, but somehow I have been a bit hesitant to actually start reading it. It’s quite a big read and although I normally don’t mind those, I’ve heard a lot of complaints about the slow pace (especially in the beginning). I will have to agree with those complaints. There is no doubt that The Goldfinch is a very well written novel and I enjoyed Donna Tartt‘s prose in general. But the mere fact that it took me almost two months to actually finish the novel and I was able to finish no less than 44! other novels while I was ‘not’ reading this one says a lot about The Goldfinch… The story itself is very interesting and I liked the idea of the journey of both the main character and the painting, but the pace was so slow that it took me a hard time to stay focused. I have the feeling that I would have liked the novel a lot better if it would have been at least 200 pages shorter. Sure, that way it loses some of its literary value, but it would be way more pleasant to read. Would I recommend this one? If you like literary fiction, love art and don’t mind a big book with a slow pace, The Goldfinch is without doubt an interesting read.

shortsummary1review

Theo Decker survives an explosion in a New York museum and a valuable painting comes into his possession. His mother didn’t survive the accident and his father had abandoned them some time before, so Theo finds him without a real home. He is taken in by the family of a wealthy friend and is having difficulties adapting to this new strange life without his mother. The only thing that reminds him of her is the small captivating painting of a goldfinch; a painting the whole world has been looking for ever since the explosion. The goldfinch travels with Theo throughout the years and brings him to different cities, adventures and even countries. As an adult, the painting has become dangerous and is his actions all those years ago came back to haunt him…

finalthoughtsreview

The Goldfinch is without doubt a beautifully written novel and I can understand why it won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. Still, the pace was so slow in the beginning that it is very hard to stay focused and continue reading until the pace finally picks up. The last part set in Amsterdam is without doubt the part with the most action in it, and I really enjoyed the many cultural references. It made me crave some of the local food; boy do I miss zuurkool! The prose is very well written and I found many inspiring quotes while I was reading. That said, I don’t think The Goldfinch is a read for everyone. If you have the time and don’t mind the effort, it can be an interesting read though.

8 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Goldfinch – by Donna Tartt

  1. Great job getting through this one, and I’m glad you enjoyed it for the most part. 🙂 I don’t think it’s something that would keep my attention, but I admire people who can read books like this and stick with them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I actually thought about giving up at some points, but I’m glad I was able to finish it in the end because the last part is definitely the most interesting (or at least the part with quite some action). I know I won’t be reading another ‘challenge’ like this one any time soon though. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Dusting Off The Shelf 2015 Reading Challenge | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: The Official 2015 TBR Pile Challenge Master Post | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

