BOOK REVIEW: End Of Days – by Susan Ee

brendofdays

Title: End Of Days
(Penryn & The End Of Days #3)
Author: Susan Ee
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Dystopia
First published: May 12th 2015 
Finished reading:  September 7th 2015
Pages: 344
Rating 4qqq

“Come on. Say it, Raffe.” I give him a half smile. “I love it when you say Pooky Bear. It’s just so perfect when it comes out of your mouth.”
“She might kill you in your sleep one of these days just so she can get rid of that name.”

myrambles1review

I still can’t believe I’ve waited this long to actually finish this series! I really enjoyed the first two books of the Penryn & The End Of Days trilogy, although Angelfall still is my favorite. I’m not saying I didn’t like the last two, but I did have a feeling the story has lost its original touch in the sequels. End Of Days just isn’t up to the same level of the first book and the first part was way too focused on the romance scenes. I’m not saying I wasn’t keeping my fingers crossed for Penryn and Raffe, but one of the things I liked of Angelfall was the fact that it wasn’t all about their ‘relationship’. The prose was as good as ever with some pretty funny quotes (boy do I love Pooky Bear and the twins!). The second part of End Of Days does have a lot more action than the first part and with its fast pace I was able to finish this one quickly. The ending is quite fitting as well, although in a way I’m sad it’s over… This series by Susan Ee is definitely recommended if you enjoy YA fantasy/dystopian series with angels.

shortsummary1review

WARNING: Possible spoilers! Please don’t read this summary if you haven’t read the first two books yet. I’ll keep the summary super short but it’s impossible to keep it completely spoiler-free…

Penryn and Raffe only barely managed to escape the angels and are now on the run. They are desperate to find a doctor that can help Raffe and Penryn’s sister back to their original state. Things are not that easy though… Raffe’s past seems to be back to threaten them all. Part of the angels are getting ready to unleash an apocalyptic nightmare onto the world, and Raffe and Penryn seem to be the only ones able to stop them and prevent a civil war. But will the war be enough reason to make unlikely alliances and strategies work? Will they be able to save both themselves and the rest of the world?

finalthoughtsreview

I’m not saying I didn’t enjoy End Of Days, because then I would be lying. Still, I was disappointed by the emphasis on Raffe and Penryn’s relationship in the begining of the story. It’s not that I don’t like the idea of them together, but I didn’t exaclty sign up for a romance novel. The second part has a lot more action in it though and makes up for it. I love the twins and their crazy ideas! Susan Ee was able to write a very enjoyable series and I honestly hope she will write more novels in the future.

11 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: End Of Days – by Susan Ee

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Month In Review: September 2015 | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Cover Characteristic #5 – July 3rd | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

