BOOK REVIEW: Into The Wild – by Jon Krakauer

brintothewild

Title: Into The Wild
Author: Jon Krakauer
Genre: Non Fiction, Biography, Travel
First published: January 13th 1996
Finished reading: September 15th 2015
Pages: 207
Rating 3,5qqq

“Nothing is more damaging to the adventurous spirit within a man than a secure future. The very basic core of a man’s living spirit is his passion for adventure. The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.”

myrambles1review

Into The Wild has been on my wishlist for ages and after watching the movie last month I thought it was about time I read it. This travel biography written by Jon Krakauer without doubt leaves its mark, although I do think it is one of those exceptions where the movie is actually better than the book. I’m not saying it is a bad read, but I would have prefered to have the story focused on the adventures of the main character Christopher McCandless alone. Jon Krakauer included his own experiences with nature and those of other people as well, which distracted from the main story and didn’t really add anything important. Christopher McCandless’ journey is impressive enough as it is and the other chapters are not necessary or don’t exactly help understanding why Christopher did what he did. Or maybe I was just spoiled by the movie, who knows… I’m not sure I actually agree with his ideas or actions, but I do respect Christopher for thinking outside the box and starting an adventure that most people won’t dare to even fantasize about. Therefore I cannot deny Into The Wild is a very impressive read with a tragic ending that is perfect for those who enjoy reading non fiction and travel/survival stories.

shortsummary1review

After Christopher McCandless graduated from college in 1991, he decided he was sick of his life chained by money and belongings and he wanted to start wandering around experiencing true nature. He left his family, gave away his money, abandoned his car and possessions and gave himself a new name: Alexander Supertramp. He now felt truly free from his past and society and started traveling around without having a penny in his pocket. He experiences the many sides of the country walking, hitchhiking and meeting a lot of interesting people on the way. McCandless travels both north and south and in April 1992 he decided to hitchhike to Alaska to finally walk alone into the wilderness. He isn’t truly prepared for what Alaska has in store for him, but he is determined to continue his journey anyway…

finalthoughtsreview

Christopher McCandless’ journey is truly impressive and unfortunately has a very sad ending. A lot have judged him badly over the years and I’m not saying it was stupid of him to start his Alaska adventure that unprepared, but it cannot be denied that he actually WAS able to survive for a really long time in such a difficult situation. Jon Krakauer‘s writing was interesting in general, although, like I said before, I would have prefered to read just McCandless’ story. I would still recommend this read though if you are interested in the genre. The movie is even better if you haven’t watched it yet!

Month In Review: September 2015

monthinreviewseptember2015

IMG_20150929_113855I wasn’t really expecting to be writing a September wrap up post, but with my vacation canceled I suddenly have a lot of free time to blog again. I haven’t been able to read as much as previous months in September, which was mostly because of the vacation preparations and aftermath… But 9 books and 2 novellas isn’t that bad of a number either. It’s also finally spring down here in Argentina, although it doesn’t really show right now… I can’t wait for the warmer months though! And my pets seem to agree. 😀

  • Number of books read in September: 11
  • Total number of books read this year: 139
  • Total number of pages read in September: 3.280
  • Total number of pages read this year: 46.148

Eight out of the eleven titles received above a 3 star rating and the other three weren’t bad either, which means I was pretty lucky with my reading choices in September! Below a list of the books I’ve read; four reviews haven’t been published yet and will be published during the next week or so. Here we go!

5starssept2015

5 STARS: Absolutely and entirely mind blowing! I suggest you to pick up a copy now.
None Of The Above – by I.W. Gregorio

45starssept2015

4.5 STARS: This one was almost perfect. Surely fantastic! 
Queen Of Shadows – by Sarah J. Maas

4starssept2015

4 STARS: Wow, this was really good. Close to amazing!
Legend – by Marie Lu // End Of Days – by Susan Ee

35starssept2015

3.5 STARS: Great read. Really entertaining!
I Was Here – by Gayle Forman // The Tales Of Beedle The Bard – by J.K. Rowling 
 // Into The Wild – by Jon Krakauer // Americosis Vol. 2 – by Haydn Wilks

3starssept2015

3 STARS: It was a nice read, but not fantastic. 
The Winner’s Curse – by Marie Rutkoski

25starssept2015

2.5 STARS: I give this one the benefit of the doubt. Nothing too exciting. 
Five Weeks In The Amazon – by Sean Michael Hayes // Breakfast At Cannibal Joe’s – by Jay Spencer Green

This year I’m doing things slightly different and I’m including an update for the different challenges I’m participating in as well. That way I won’t be having a dozen update posts wandering around. This month I haven’t made any progress with the pending challenges, but then again I haven’t been having that much time to read. Hopefully I will be able to complete at least the TBR challenges by next month!

# CHALLENGES #

bookishbingoprogressGoodreads Reading Challenge: FINISHED!! (60/60)
Updated Goodreads Reading Challenge: FINISHED!! (90/90)
Yet Again Updated Goodreads Reading Challenge: FINISHED!! (120/120)
The Official 2015 TBR Pile Challenge: 9/10
Dusting Of The Shelf Reading Challenge: 9/10
Bookish Bingo 2015: 40/45
2015 When Are You Reading? Challenge9/12
Reading Through The Centuries Challenge: FINISHED!!
Bookish Bingo Ready For Spring: FINISHED!!

As far as the other reading and blogging goals go, I haven’t even tried to start completing them. I’m a disaster, I know haha. 😀 My TBR pile is only increasing and I still haven’t started on my Spanish books OR completed my older reviews… Hopefully I will be able to cross off at least the book over 800 pages by next month if I manage to finish Outlander.

# OTHER READING/BLOGGING GOALS #

  • Read at least 5 classics
  • Finish rereading the Harry Potter series 
  • Complete at least 5 series (The Infernal Devices Trilogy/ Divergent Trilogy/The Grisha Trilogy/The Wolves Of Mercy Falls Trilogy/The Maze Runner Series)
  • Bring my physical TBR pile below 150 books: 238/150
  • Read at least one book over 800 pages: 0/1 (highest amount: 796 pages)
  • Read at least 5 books in Spanish: 0/5
  • Join at least 5 challenges during the year
  • Finish older reviews that haven’t been posted yet: 0/10
  • Update older reviews to new format: 18/32

Happy October and Happy Reading!