BOOK REVIEW: Queen Of Shadows – by Sarah J. Maas

brqueenofshadows

Title: Queen Of Shadows
(Throne Of Glass #4)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal
First published: September 1st 2015
Finished reading: September 18th 2015
Pages: 648
Rating 4,5qqq

“She was fire, and light, and ash, and embers. She was Aelin Fireheart, and she bowed for no one and nothing, save the crown that was hers by blood and survival and triumph.”

myrambles1review

It seems like everybody was reading Queen Of Shadows last month! So many posts about the latest installment of the Throne Of Glass series appeared during September that I was afraid to even look at my WordPress feed because of possible spoilers… The only solution being giving in and reading this Sarah J. Maas novel ASAP. Which is just what I did! I started reading it almost as soon as I got my copy, and it definitely didn’t disappoint. Queen Of Shadows is full of action, magical and just as good as the previous sequels… I had some minor problems with some of the things that happened and the Blackbeak chapters weren’t my favorite, but all in all this fourth book proved to me this series still belongs to my list of favorite YA fantasy reads. The prose is as good as ever and both the fast pace and the plot twists made me almost angry every time I was forced to stop reading. Some of the romantical love ‘geometry‘ was a bit annoying and I was sad to let the Celaena character go, but I was more than satisfied by it anyway. A mayor bonus: the story doesn’t end with a noticeable cliffhanger, making the wait for the fifth book a whole lot less painful!

shortsummary1review

WARNING: Possible spoilers! Please don’t read this summary if you haven’t read the first three books yet. I’ll keep the summary short but it’s almost impossible to keep it completely spoiler-free…

Everything Celeana loves has been taken from her, but now she is back in the King’s empire to seek revenge. She wants to rescue her kingdom and save magic, but before she can reclaim her throne in Terrasen she will have to fight and embrace her identity as Aelin Galathynius. Her warrior cousin is currently being held prisoner by the King and Prince Dorian is under his influence as well. Her people are suffering because of the actions of the brutal King and she wants to free them as well… But things aren’t going to be easy, since her powers are not working in the country she has to confront her enemies.

finalthoughtsreview

While I had some problems with the first book, I have loved all three sequels so far. Queen Of Shadows is just as good as the second and third book and while I did have some small problems with it, I wasn’t disappointed at all. The Blackbeak storyline still wasn’t my favorite, but it was better developed than in the previous book. I also think I prefer Celaena over Aelin as a character… But I like the fact that magic is playing an increasing role in the story. I won’t say much more because of spoilers, but what I can say is that I was more than satisfied and I will be waiting (im)patiently for the still untitled fifth book.

9 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Queen Of Shadows – by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: The Rabbit Ears Book Tag | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Best Of 2015: July – December | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

