BOOK REVIEW: The Kill Order – by James Dashner

brthekillorder

 Title: The Kill Order
(The Maze Runner #0.5)
Author: James Dashner
Genre: YA, Science Fiction, Dystopia
First published: August 14th 2012
Finished reading: October 2nd 2015
Pages: 327

Rating 2,5qqq

“Scared. That’s good. A fine soldier is always scared. Makes you normal. It’s how you respond to it that makes or breaks you.”

myrambles1review

Those who follow my blog will know by now I was mostly underwhelmed by The Maze Runner series. Since I already owned a copy of The Kill Order and I was promised it was actually better than the third book, I decided to just read this prequel story so I could consider the series finished. While The Kill Order was slightly better than The Death Cure and I was surprised the annoying slang of the main series was nowhere to be found, I cannot say I was impressed by this particular story by James Dashner either. It doesn’t really have a connection with the main series and it’s mostly about a bunch of people trying to survive in the forest after the world went crazy. Sure, it also tells about how the Flare disease first appeared and why WICKED eventually had to be created in the future, but if you ask me it’s not really necessary to read The Kill Order in order to understand what happened in the rest of the books. My verdict? Don’t read this one unless you really loved the series and enjoy dystopian stories in general.

shortsummary1review

It all started long before WICKED was formed and the Glade was built, when sun flares hit the earth and the world turned into a disaster zone. A part of the population was able to survive the sun flares, and Mark and Trina are among them. They were able to escape the city with the help of Lana and Alec, two ex-soldiers, and are now living in a community in the forest. But it turns out that the sun flares were only the beginning… A new disease that drives people crazy is quickly spreading across the eastern United States and the origin of it is quite suspicious. Even worse, the disease seems to be mutating… They are determined to stay alive, but will they be able to win against this invisible enemy?

finalthoughtsreview

The Kill Order is a quick read and I was positively surprised that James Dashner didn’t use the annoying slang that is so typical in the main series. Still, I wasn’t really convinced by the story. The Kill Order is mostly about a bunch of characters trying to survive in the forest after the sun flares and there isn’t really a lot of plot development or real connection to the main series. I guess it means you won’t have to worry about spoilers and The Kill Order can be read either before or after the series, but I’m not sure it’s actually worth reading…

12 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Kill Order – by James Dashner

    • I wish I didn’t take the time to read this one either, but I guess that now at least I know it wasn’t worth it. 😉 Since it has almost no connection to the main series, it’s just another weak dystopian story…

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is exactly how I felt after reading it. It didn’t really matter to me, as it may as well have been a separate story all together. Anyone who has read the entire trilogy can see that this prequel doesn’t connect to the characters that we know from the other books. I wasted my time with this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Those are my thoughts exactly. I mostly decided to read it to see if it would reveal anything new about the main series, but it doesn’t have any real connection to it at all. What’s left is simply another weak dystopian story…

      Like

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  7. I agree with your thoughts and rambles — the Kill Order didn’t relate to the series except for the mention of how the Flare spread, therefore I didn’t really enjoy the Kill Order. However I didn’t TOTALLY enjoy the series itself anyways, so it didn’t bother me as much.
    Great review! (:

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Month In Review: October 2015 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

