Teaser Tuesdays #64 – October 20th: Outlander

teasertuesdays

TEASER TUESDAYS is a weekly book meme originally featured at A Daily Rhythm. To participate, just open the book you are currently reading to a random page, and choose two ‘teaser’ sentences from somewhere on that page. (no spoilers!)

I’ve finally started reading Outlander by Diana Gabaldon! I have been wanting to start this series for ages now, but somehow I kept posponing it. I needed a book over 800 pages for a challenge though, so I thought it was the perfect excuse to finally pick it up. I’m not too far into the story yet, but so far things are looking promising.

outlanderteasergoodreadsblurb

My teaser (4%):

“ ‘If that is a sample of your mercy,’ he said, ‘I’d hate to see your vengeance.’ The thunder went off like a mortar attack, as though in answer to his words, and we both laughed, at ease again.”

What are you reading right now?

20 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays #64 – October 20th: Outlander

    • I couldn’t help but follow your conversation.

      I suppose it depends on your experience in the English language but I’m not native English (it’s my third language) and I didn’t have much trouble understanding it. There are a few things that might make you lift an eyebrow or two, especially when the mention of “yeuk” – “kirk” – “bairn” comes (Scottish/Gaelic?), (I’m lucky that it looks a lot like “jeuk” and “kerk” in my own language and means the same) but other than that I think it’s doable. It just might take a bit longer than a normal reading space. But again, it depends on how much you read in English and what you’re used to reading :p

      I just thought I might share this piece of info as I’m not English myself and have thoroughly enjoyed the first three books so far in English. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • No problem. Hop into the conversation 🙂

        I guess I’m just easily bored with a book where I have to look up too many words 😉 I want my book to be easy to read, where I don’t have to think about what a certain phrase could mean and not mean. 😉 I’m super lazy when it comes to that. I might try Outlander in German someday, even though it’s really not my genre (I hate anything historical)

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Outlander is so good. It’s my favourite series I’m reading right now. I’ve only read the first three books but ❤ (I can't ❤ this enough). Jamie…Jamie…Jamie…I want him as my boyfriend (he's far from perfect but perfect in his own way).

    I've started the series in April or May this year and I have to force myself to reading other books in between or I'll finish it too quickly and I never want to finish this love story and I want to continue because I have to know but….but…aaaaaah *explodes into a puddle of fangirling mess* – yeah, this is the kind of series I hate to continue because I love it so much that I never want it to end (the same thing happened to me with Harry Potter). Even seeing someone else starting this gives me butterflies all over and makes me want to pick up Outlander again for the 4th time. Oh my…. I promise I stop fangirling now :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha it’s good to hear you loved this series that much! I’ve only just started reading Outlander, but I already have the feeling I will enjoy this read as well. And I know what you mean with the not wanting to finish the series too quickly… Like you I had the same thing happening with the Harry Potter series when I was younger and lately with Barry Lyga’s Jasper Dent trilogy as well. 🙂

      Like

  2. I have heard great things about these books but haven’t read them and don’t plan too. They don’t sound like my kinda books, but I love the teaser. The writing sounds good. Happy you are enjoying it so far. Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

