BOOK REVIEW: Anna Dressed In Blood – by Kendare Blake

brannadressedinblood

Title: Anna Dressed In Blood
(Anna #1)
Author: Kendare Blake
Genre: YA, Horror, Paranormal
First published: August 30th 2011
Finished reading: October 19th 2015
Pages: 316
Rating 4,5qqq

“I think of her again. Anna. Anna Dressed in Blood. I wonder what tricks she’ll try. I wonder if she’ll be clever. Will she float? Will she laugh or scream?
How will she try to kill me?”

myrambles1reviewqqq

Anna Dressed In Blood is one of the books on my Halloween TBR and I have to say I really loved this read. It’s a creepy ghost story with just the right amount of romance and an interesting plot. I really enjoyed Kendare Blake‘s writing style and the pace is fast enough to be able to finish it in no time at all. Anna Dressed In Blood is without doubt a proper horror read and some parts are not suitable for the weak-hearted or those who don’t like gory details… But I still think most of the story has more of a psychological horror feel. Both Anna and Cas are very interesting characters and I liked how their relationship developed during the story. Some of the other characters ended up annoying me a little, but since they didn’t play a big role in the story it didn’t bother me that much. If you are looking for a good horror story that is both entertaining and creepy, make sure to pick up Anna Dressed In Blood! I myself can’t wait to read the sequel…

shortsummary1reviewqqq

When his father was brutally murdered by a ghost he was trying to kill, Cas Lowood inherited his vocation: killing the dead. Armed with his father’s mysterious athame, Cas travels around the country looking for murderous ghosts. His mother has some experience with witchcraft and their cat is a walking spirit-detector; both help Cas on his missions. They follow the local legends and never stay long in the same place, so Cas hasn’t exactly a lot of friends. But things are about to change when he decides to go after the ghost locals call Anna Dressed In Blood. Soon he realizes more and more people are getting involved in his hunt; something that normally doesn’t happen… And he will have to not only protect his own life, but that of his new friends. To make things even more complicated, Anna is not a normal ghost… Will Cas be able to defeat her?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

This story is both creepy and entertaining and the perfect read for Halloween if you don’t mind the gory bits. I was able to finish Anna Dressed In Blood in no time at all and I will definitely read the sequel Girl Of Nightmares as soon as possible. Kendare Blake combines good prose with an interesting story and characters and it all just fits together. If you enjoy reading the genre, make sure to pick this one up!

20 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Anna Dressed In Blood – by Kendare Blake

  1. I don’t know why but your review on this book reminded me of Supernatural (Cas + ghosts + hunting) :p It might be because I’m binge watching season 6…
    Anyway, great review. I’m going to put this on my tbr for next Halloween :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I haven’t seen the series in a while, but Supernatural sure has a similar feel to it. 😉 It’s a perfect Halloween read; I hope you enjoy it next year!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Month In Review: October 2015 | It's All About Books

  8. Pingback: Best Of 2015: July – December | It's All About Books

  9. Pingback: Cover Characteristic #1 – May 29th | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

