Month In Review: October 2015

monthinreviewoctober2015

Wait, there are only two months left of 2015?! Seriously, where did all that time go? When I saw the Christmas decoration being piled up already the other day, I almost couldn’t believe my eyes… On the positive side, it almost means the Summer months are right around the corner here in Argentina. 😀 October has been quite busy, but I still have been able to finish 20 books. Not bad at all! I also started my own food blog Easy Peasy Delicious Food, where I will be sharing some of my recipes. I have been trying to eat more healthy (and not just because of a diet 😉 ) and I’m currently experienting with a lot of vegetarian dishes (although I could never give up meat!). I made chickpea and lentil hamburgers the other day and they were delicious! 😀

  • Number of books read in October: 20
  • Total number of books read this year: 159
  • Total number of pages read in October: 6.224
  • Total number of pages read this year: 52.372

Thirteen out of twenty titles received above a 3 star rating so October wasn’t a bad reading month. A few were slightly disappointing, but in general I really enjoyed them! Below a list of the books I’ve read; four reviews haven’t been published yet and will be published soon. Here we go!

october201545starrating

4.5 STARS: This one was almost perfect. Surely fantastic! 
Firebolt – by Adrienne Woods // Anna Dressed In Blood – by Kendare Blake // The Murder Complex – by Lindsay Cummings // The Fear Trials – by Lindsay Cummings

october20154starrating

4 STARS: Wow, this was really good. Close to amazing!
Asylum – by Madeleine Roux // Through The Woods – by Emily Carroll // The Time Keeper – by Mitch Albom // The Night She Disappeared – by April Henry // The Night Circus – by Erin Morgenstern // The Girl Of Fire And Thorns – by Rae Carson // Ochoco Reach – by Jim Stewart

october201535starrating

3.5 STARS: Great read. Really entertaining!
On The Jellicoe Road – by Melina Marchetta

october20153starrating

3 STARS: It was a nice read, but not fantastic. 
An Abundance Of Katherines – by John Green // I Am Not A Serial Killer – by Dan Wells // And The Mountains Echoed – by Khaled Hosseini // Vanishing Girls – by Lauren Oliver

october201525starrating

2.5 STARS: I give this one the benefit of the doubt. Nothing too exciting. 
The Kill Order – by James Dashner // My Name Is Memory –  by Ann Brashares // The Paper Magician – by Charlie N. Holmberg // The Infinite Sea – by Rick Yancey

This year I’m doing things slightly different and I’m including an update for the different challenges I’m participating in as well. That way I won’t be having a dozen update posts wandering around. This month I was able to make progress with my last two pending challenges after finally finishing my two TBR pile challenges! 😀

# CHALLENGES #

bookishbingoprogressGoodreads Reading Challenge: FINISHED!! (60/60)
Updated Goodreads Reading Challenge: FINISHED!! (90/90)
Yet Again Updated Goodreads Reading Challenge: FINISHED!! (120/120)
The Official 2015 TBR Pile Challenge: FINISHED!!
Dusting Of The Shelf Reading Challenge: FINISHED!!
Bookish Bingo 2015: 42/45
2015 When Are You Reading? Challenge10/12
Reading Through The Centuries Challenge: FINISHED!!
Bookish Bingo Ready For Spring: FINISHED!!

As far as the other reading and blogging goals go: no changes whatsover since last month. I’m a disaster, I know haha. I am determined to finish Outlander in November, so that will help me finish at least one… And hopefully I will have some time to finish old reviews as well. Fingers crossed!

# OTHER READING/BLOGGING GOALS #

  • Read at least 5 classics
  • Finish rereading the Harry Potter series 
  • Complete at least 5 series
  • Bring my physical TBR pile below 150 books: 238/150
  • Read at least one book over 800 pages: 0/1 (highest amount: 796 pages)
  • Read at least 5 books in Spanish: 0/5
  • Join at least 5 challenges during the year
  • Finish older reviews that haven’t been posted yet: 0/10
  • Update older reviews to new format: 18/32

Happy November and Happy Reading!

14 thoughts on “Month In Review: October 2015

  1. First of all…20 books! *falls from chair and gets tangled up in her own limbs from shock* Gosh. That’s only something I can dream of! 😀

    There are a lot of books on your list that I haven’t heard of and then a few that I’ve read as well. I agree with An Abundance of Katherines by John Green. The book didn’t do it for me. Maybe my expectations were too high, I don’t know. James Dashner! Urgh. I’ve finished the second book in the series last month and I’m quickly becoming to dislike this series (and maybe his writing style too…).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I was quite surprised I was able to read this many books as well… But most were either short or fast-paced so that did make it easier to finish them. 😉

      I think I suffer from a John Green overdose, because I’m starting to dislike his books more and more. They are not bad, but somehow they are too similar.

      And James Dashner… I don’t think I will read something else by this author any time soon. I suffered through the three Maze Runner books and the prequel is not great either. (The only positive thing of the prequel is that it doesn’t have the annoying slang of the main series. 😉 )

      Like

    • I always try to keep up with my reviews as I’m reading, but sometimes I don’t have enough time to write them right after finishing them. It does help that I try to keep my reviews short and simple…

      Like

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post #2 – November 8th | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

