BOOK REVIEW: The Infinite Sea – by Rick Yancey

brtheinfinitesea

Title: The Infinite Sea
(The 5th Wave #2)
Author: Rick Yancey
Genre: YA, Dystopia, Fantasy
First published: September 16th 2014
Finished reading: October 31st 2015
Pages: 320
Rating 2,5qqq

“No hope without faith, no faith without hope, no love without trust, no trust without love. Remove one and the entire human house cards collapses.”

myrambles1review

To be honest, I don’t even know why I decided to read The Infinite Sea, because I was quite disappointed by the first book. The beginning of The 5th Wave was really promising, but the ridiculous romance between Cassie and Evan ruined the story for me (among other things). While The Infinite Sea has less crappy romance scenes in it, the plot and the actions of the main characters were not exactly credible or great. More importantly, I couldn’t care less what was happening to them, which is kind of not the point of this novel right? Sure, the overall worldbuilding is quite creative and things are supposed to be confusing at points, but I just wasn’t impressed. I know a lot of people seem to love this series, but I guess I’m just not one of them… I saw that the third book, The Last Star, will be published next year, but I don’t know if I will actually end up reading it.

shortsummary1review

WARNING: Possible spoilers! Please don’t read this summary if you haven’t read The 5th Wave yet. I’ll keep the summary short but it’s almost impossible to keep it completely spoiler-free…

After the first four waves there are almost no humans left, but that doesn’t seem to be enough for the Others. The fifth wave is currently in process, trying to rid the humans of their humanity. Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a world where it is almost impossible to survive. Trusting someone will most likely end up with you being dead, so it is hard to find allies in this new world. Cassie and her few friends are trying to stop the Others of reaching their goal of exterminating the human race, but will they be able to survive the unthinkable?

finalthoughtsreview

I’m still not sure if The Infinite Sea is a case of not-for-me or if it is really not that good. Since I normally enjoy the genre, I’m leaning towards the second option… I had no emotional attachment to the main characters whatsoever and I couldn’t care less what was going to happen next. The fact alone that it was hard to remember the details of this book after only a week says enough… The general plot might be interesting and it is quite a quick read, but I don’t think I would recommend this series unless you don’t mind cliche romance scenes and not so credible action scenes or characters.

13 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Infinite Sea – by Rick Yancey

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  5. I really enjoyed The 5th Wave, but I thought The Infinite Sea was really a let-down. It just wasn’t very interesting, and the plot didn’t hold together. I’ll probably still read the 3rd book to see how it all wraps up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good to hear I wasn’t the only one not enjoying The Infinite Sea… I’ve seen a lot of people loving this series so far, but I honestly think there are better YA dystopian/fantasy series out there. I will probably end up reading book 3 at some point, but I won’t be the first in line to get a copy when it comes out next year…

      Like

  6. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Sunday Post #3 – November 15th | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

