BOOK REVIEW: Winter – by Marissa Meyer

brwinter

Title: Winter
(The Lunar Chronicles #4)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Retelling
First published: November 10th 2015
Finished reading: November 20th 2015
Pages: 827
Rating 5qqq

“She was prettier than a bouquet of roses and crazier than a headless chicken. Fitting in was not an option.”

myrambles1review

The Lunar Chronicles is probably one of my favorite series I’ve read this year and in a way I’m sad it’s over. It’s one of the first times I’ve read a book as soon as it was published (not including ARCs), and even six days after finishing Winter I am still trying to get my thoughts together. I really loved this last novel by Marissa Meyer despite its length. My heart did almost stop at some points in the story; damn you plot twists! I’m not saying that’s a bad thing, but it’s hard to see your favorite characters suffering if you love a series as much as I do. I kept thinking: please give them a happy ending, they have totally earned it! It took me some time finishing Winter, but that’s mostly because I didn’t want it to be over… And what I can say is that this book was everything I was hoping for. Thank you Marissa Meyer for an excellent series! I do hope there will be a Thorne novella at some point in the future…

shortsummary1review

WARNING: do not read this summary if you haven’t read the first three books in the series yet! It will most likely contain spoilers, even though I’ve made sure to keep it short.

Queen Levana has always been jealous of little princess Winter. Winter has been admired by the Lunar people ever since she was little and despite the scars on her face it is said that she is even more beautiful than the queen. The princess doesn’t want to use her gift to manipulate others and is slowly turning mad… But she is not as weak as Levana believes her to be and Winter has been undermining her stepmother for years. And now the Lunars are on the border of a revolution, will Cinder, the princess and their friends be able to stand up to Levana and find their happily ever afters?

finalthoughtsreview

I know this review probably doesn’t make a lot of sense if you haven’t read The Lunar Chronicles yet, but I find it really hard to write a review without fangirling over the place. Marissa Meyer has created with this series a new way of retelling fairy tales and mixes these elements perfectly with the rest of the story. After four books the main characters feel like old friends and it’s really hard to see them suffer… Marissa Meyer knows how to draw you into the story and keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end. If you are looking for a good YA fantasy series, this one is more than recommended! The fact that there won’t be any new books pending to be published (if you don’t count novellas) is a huge bonus as well.

17 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Winter – by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  6. I was never really worried about fearing if they’d have happily ever afters, Marissa’s never really randomly killed people off before so I figured all our babies were safe. That didn’t mean my heart didn’t stop right at the end when Thorne was under Levana’s control!!! Jezzz I WAS NOT OKAY!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, Marissa Meyer definitely doesn’t suffer from the George R.R. Martin syndrom and I’m grateful for that. 😉 And that scene with Thorne under Levana’s control was making my heart explode! I remember wanting to stop reading and continue at the same time… I don’t think I have any nails left haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Am I kind of evil that I like when authors kill off there characters??? Alexandra Bracken did it in the Darkest Minds series and although I was like crying ever other page it made the book so exciting!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think it depends on the author; with George R.R. Martin for example I really don’t mind because it makes the story that much less predictable. I really need to read The Darkest Minds series soon though! I have been wanting to for ages…

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I didn’t think the main characters were going to die, but then Levana stabbed Cinder and I just started internally screaming ‘NO THIS IS NOT OKAY MARISSA MEYER YOU CANNOT DO THIS WHAT IS THIS NO’ and a bunch of other things that I can’t remember because I was so horrified haha. I really want a Thorne novella as well ❤ I need more Thorne haha. Who am I kidding; I need more of everyone!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Sunday Post #5 – November 29th | It's All About Books

  9. Pingback: Month In Review: November 2015 | It's All About Books

  10. Pingback: 2015 End Of Year Book Survey | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

