WWW Wednesdays #74 – January 20th

wwwwednesdaysWWW WEDNESDAYS is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words and is all about answering the three questions below.

  • WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

wwwjan20th2016currently

I’ve started reading my pending ARC, Eternal War: Armies Of Saints by Livio Gambarini yesterday. It’s a historical fiction/fantasy read and I’m really enjoying it so far! I’ve also finally picked up The Death Code by Lindsay Cummings… I have been wanting to read this sequel for too long now so I’m glad I finally did.

  • WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

wwwjan20th2016finished

* The first book I finished is Illuminae by Amie Kaufman. People kept recommending this book to me and I have to say it was just as good as I thought it would be. Minor complaint: I NEED a physical version because the creative layout doesn’t look nearly as good on my kindle. 😦
* I then finished Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng, which turned out to be quite a slow read and I didn’t enjoy it as much as I though I would. It’s more about the family history than it is about the missing girl… And somehow it didn’t manage to convince me completely.
* The last book I managed to finish (I DNFed Death Of Secrets by Bowen Greenwood) was The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line by Rob Thomas. Finally a good mystery read and a new series I can add to my favorites list!

  • WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

wwwjan20th2016next

I might try to read I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios next, although I’ve heard mixed things about it… Confessions by Kanae Minato is also still on my list as well, but I might read Defending Jacob by William Landay first since I’m in the mood for mystery/thriller reads. Last but not least, Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch is still my newest TBR jar pick…

29 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #74 – January 20th

    • I’ve read various positive reviews in the past so I’m looking forward to pick up Defending Jacob myself! I’ve been trying to read more mystery/thriller reads so this one should fit right in.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. When I was reading Illuminae I did think, “This wouldn’t be as good on Kindle”, mainly for the parts when you need the double page open in front of you to appreciate the visual effects. They should put a big notice up when you go to buy it warning you about this and discount the Kindle version appropriately! I’m glad you enjoyed it anyway 🙂
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/01/20/www-wednesday-20th-january-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lucky you for not reading the kindle version! It really doesn’t show the visual effects that well, plus the parts where you read AIDAN’s thoughts are almost too dark to read comfortably. In short: I need to buy myself a physical copy for a proper reread. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • This is one of those book where a physical copy is almost manditory… I will definitely have to get one myself. Good to hear you enjoyed I’ll Meet You There! I’ve heard mixed things about it, but I’m looking forward to read it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad I’m not the only one who didn’t love ‘Everything I Never Told You.’ I almost bought it, but I thought the ending was a bit much. ‘Defending Jacob’ is a great mystery/thriller. I hope you enjoy it. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wasn’t really a fan of the ending either… I’m glad I wasn’t the only one with negative thoughts, because I know a lot of people loved Everything I Never Told You. I’m looking forward to Defending Jacob! Happy reading and thanks for hosting!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh I’m so happy to hear you liked Illuminae. I’m still on the fence with the mixed reviews (not to mention that I like the style of the book more than the plot).

    Bummer about Everything I Never Told You. Drives me nuts when the book summary/our expectations doesn’t adequately meet the books actual plot.

    Confessions sounds good, but sad too.. Happy Reading! Look forward to seeing which you chose to read this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think the visual effects and layout of Illuminae are more important than the actual plot, because without those the story could have been told with a lot less pages… I guess you can’t have both. 😉
      I’ve heard others really enjoying Everything I Never Told You, but I guess I was expecting something different. Quite a slow read too…
      Happy reading! I’m still not sure what to pick up once I finish my ARC; I might need a light read or two after two many ‘tense’ stories.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I hope you are able to get a physical copy and enjoy Illuminae! I have been wanting to read Snow Like Ashes ever since I first saw the cover… I’m probably going to read some other books first but I’m looking forward to finally pick it up soon. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Iluminae was really good; the plot alone is not that special, but the visual effects are truly original. The Veronica Mars series is really good so far! I’m planning on reading the sequel next month. Happy reading!

      Like

    • Illuminae was really good! Although I wish I had the physical copy… I LOVE the cover of Snow Like Ashes and I’ve heard a lot of great things about it, so I can’t wait to finally read it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Sunday Post #12 – January 24th | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

