BOOK REVIEW: Fantastic Mr. Fox – by Roald Dahl

brfantasticmrfox

Title: Fantastic Mr. Fox
Author: Roald Dahl
Genre: Children, Fantasy, Fiction
First published: 1970
Finished reading: January 8th 2016
Pages: 81
Rating 3,5qqq

“I understand what you’re saying, and your comments are valuable, but I’m gonna ignore your advice.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

Roald Dahl is easily one of my favorite childhood authors and every once in a while I like rereading one of his books. Browsing his books for another reread the other day I realized I couldn’t remember if I had ever read Fantastic Mr. Fox… And I decided to change that immediately. I enjoyed reading this children story, although I have to admit it’s not as good as some of his other work. Still, he writes in a way that will win over any child’s heart whether they read it themselves or you read it to them. Quentin Blake‘s illustrations maybe are not the prettiest, but they fit well and bring back memories of my own childhood reading Roald Dahl‘s books. Mr. Fox and the other animals all have different personalities as do the three farmers… I definitely would have enjoyed this read as a kid and I would definitely recommend it to someone with young children. And for us adults: it’s not his best work and it might get a bit boring… If you haven’t read anything Roald Dahl yet, I wouldn’t recommend reading this one first.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Someone has been stealing animals from the three mean farmers Boggis, Bunce and Bean. Chickens, Ducks, Geese, Turkeys… Boggis, Bunce and Bean have had enough and join forces to catch the thief. They already know who did it: Mr. Fox! The farmers decide to get rid of him forever and have Mr. Fox and his family surrounded. But Mr. Fox isn’t just any fox and very clever. He comes up with a plan to fool the farmers and save his family from starvation…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

Fantastic Mr. Fox isn’t my favorite, but it still very much shows it was written by Roald Dahl. I really like his writing style and it’s perfect for children with just the right dose of humor and adventure. The illustrations combine well with the text and I would definitely read this story to small children. I’m sure they would love it…

12 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Fantastic Mr. Fox – by Roald Dahl

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Sunday Post #12 – January 24th | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Month In Review: January 2016 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

