BOOK REVIEW: The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line – by Rob Thomas

brthethousanddollartanline

Title: The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line
(Veronica Mars #1)
Author: Rob Thomas
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Contemporary
First published: March 25th 2014
Finished reading: January 19th 2016
Pages: 336
Rating 4,5qqq

“There weren’t many people in this world who would let you be vulnerable and still believe you were strong.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I think I’m one of those clueless persons that didn’t know there was a Veronica Mars TV show or movie (I’m giving my living in a Spanish speaking country as a weak excuse). Now I’ve read the first book in the Veronica Mars book series, I want to hit myself on the head for not discovering Rob Thomas‘ writing earlier. And if the TV show is just as good as the book, I’m sure I would love it as well… The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line is fast-paced, has interesting characters and plot and a prose that works like a charm. It’s been a while since I read a good, well written and entertaining mystery/thriller story and this one is definitely one of my new favorites. I really liked Veronica Mars as a character and the way how she is able to find out things that others may not have guessed earlier. Another bonus: Rob Thomas was able to incorporate a few interesting plot twists that I definitely didn’t see coming. The basic plot might not sound all that interesting, but he was able to turn the story into something special anyway. All in all, if you are in the mood for a good mystery read, look no further!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Veronica Mars left Neptune California as soon has she graduated high school, but after ten years she is back to help her father with his private investigator business. She traded in her law degree for her old license and now she is struggling to keep Mars Investigations afloat. Everything changes when a girl disappears at a party during spring break… Veronica is called in to investigate the disappearance and the promise of a big paycheck helps her take her mind off the things that worry her. And that might just be for the best, because it turns out to be something a whole lot more complicated AND dangerous than the typical missing person’s case. And Veronica is not even safe from her past when she plunges deeper into the case… What secrets will her investigation reveal and will she find the girl on time?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

Veronica Mars is one of those series I wish I had discovered earlier. I immediately fell in love with both the characters and the prose and I literally flew through The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line. The title had me worried a minute it was going to be one of those cheap and tacky mystery novels, but I couldn’t have been more wrong. This story by Rob Thomas is an example of the well written mystery/thriller read I have been looking out for, and I am already looking forward to pick up the sequel. If you like the genre, make sure you read this book!

18 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line – by Rob Thomas

    • I wish they would broadcast the TV show down here in Argentina, but no such luck… This first book is really good though, so it makes me want to try if I can watch at least the first episode online.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve been wanting to add a mystery/detective novel to my TBR for something different and a little scared of the everyday detective or P.I novels…. Veronica Mars looks perfect! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Great recommendation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Veronica Mars is a P.I. novel with a plot that might not be that original, but Rob Thomas was able to really spice it up with the fast pace, interesting characters and prose. Definitely worth the try!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Month In Review: January 2016 | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

