WWW Wednesdays #79 – February 24th

wwwwednesdaysWWW WEDNESDAYS is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words and is all about answering the three questions below.

  • WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

wwwfeb24th2016currently

I still haven’t finished All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr… Don’t get me wrong, I love this book so far both because of the prose, setting and characters, but somehow I haven’t been in the mood to read it. I’m fearing a starting reading slump, so I am trying to read quick, ‘easy’ or different reads instead. I’ve just picked up Bestiario by Julio Cortázar as well to start working on my promise to read more Spanish books; I’ve read a lot of his short stories during Uni and it’s nice to revisit them.

  • WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

wwwfeb24th2016finished

* The first book I finished was Every Day by David Levithan. I had my reservations and wasn’t sure what to expect, but it turned out to be an excellent read.
* I then read Charm & Strange by Stephanie Kuehn mostly because I needed something short and entertaining to get me to read again. Like the title says, this book is without doubt strange, mysterious and very intriguing! Recommendable.
* I also finished Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas, a book I picked up on a whim after remembering how much I loved Dangerous Girls last year. I still prefer that one, although Dangerous Boys is almost as good. Abigail Haas knows how to play with the reader’s mind!
* The last book I finished is Mr. Kiss And Tell by Rob Thomas, a Veronica Mars sequel that didn’t really live up to expectations. I loved the first book, but the sequel read a bit slow and failed to keep my attention. There was too much focus on the relationship between Veronica and Logan and politics and the actual case they were working on was pushed to the background…

  • WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

wwwfeb24th2016next

I really want to pick up The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton soon; both because I have been looking forward to it for quite some time now and I need it for a challenge as well. I might read Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson first though if I’m in the mood for a light read…. And I also finally want to stick to my promise and start with Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, but that depends on how I feel after finishing my current reads. The Liar’s Chair by Rebecca Whitney is still my newest TBR jar pick.

33 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #79 – February 24th

  1. Turning to different reads is a good way to avoid any reading slump, I hope it’ll work! I always go back to my old favorite books/authors to prevent slumps when I felt like one might be on its way. There’s something comforting about revisiting your favorites.
    I love both the title and the cover of Furiously Happy, it makes me want to grab it right away.
    Here’s my week in books 🙂 https://chocolatenwafflesblog.wordpress.com/2016/02/24/this-week-in-books-feb-24th-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

    • So far turning to easy or different reads has worked, but I’m still not back to normal… So I might do a reread or two instead to see if that helps. Plus, it actually makes sense to reread Red Queen anyway before I start reading the sequel. 😉 Furiously Happy sounds so good! I’m really excited to start it soon.

      Like

    • Wow lucky you! I have been wanting to start the series for aaaages now, but like you I have been posponing because the books are huge and I want to have time to properly sit down for them. (I also want to start the fifth A Song Of Ice And Fire book, but that one is even bigger haha) Fingers crossed I will finally give in to Outlander soon!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Not a reading slump!! I hate those. I felt one coming on, so I dived into a new suspense and it saved me. 🙂 I’m glad you liked Dangerous Boys. I want to read that one eventually, after loving the other one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lucky you! I’m still not completely over it, but reading some short and different reads in between did help a lot. Dangerous Boys was really good! Not as good as Dangerous Girls and the ending was a bit more predictable, but still totally worth reading.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m really looking forward to The Miniaturist! I have been wanting to read a historical fiction book for a while now and this one just sounds so good. I might wait until I’m over the reading slump feeling to pick it up so I can properly enjoy it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • That’s exactly what happened to me as well! I think I was expecting a just another sappy contemporary romance story so I was more than pleasantly surprised.

      Like

  3. Yay for reading in Spanish! I hope you like ‘Furiously Happy.’ My brother got me a signed copy for Christmas but I haven’t read it just yet. It’s best to read Lawson in private because she’ll make you laugh so hard. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad I finally picked up something Spanish! It sure took me long enough… Furiously Happy sounds like a very entertaining read; I’m definitely taking your advice and read it when I’m alone. 😉 Happy reading and thanks for hosting!

      Liked by 1 person

    • It took me a bit to get into Every Day as well, but I really loved teh story in the end. Charm & Strange is definitely worth reading! A fast read and very unique.

      Like

  4. I’ve been seeing Dangerous Boys pop up in a few places this week, it sounds really good! I’m trying not to add things to my TBR right now but I might keep an eye on this one.I said to someone this morning I need to have a thrillers month or something to read all the thrillers/mysteries I keep putting aside in favour of more YA.

    I’ll keep an eye out for your review of the Miniaturist, it sounds amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dangerous Boys is definitely worth reading! Have you read Dangerous Girls yet? That one is even better. 😉 I should do a mystery/thriller month some time as well since it’s one of my favorite genres but I don’t read nearly enough books belonging to the genre… The Miniaturist sounds like such an interesting read; I’ve started it the other day but I only managed to read a few pages so far.

      Like

  5. Glad to hear you liked Every Day. Hm I’ve seen Dangerous Boys/Dangerous Girls around. I might check it out when I get into the mood for that kind of book. Right now I’m on a fantasy high. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you’re in a mood for a good mystery/thriller read with plot twist that mess with your mind, Dangerous Girls and Dangerous Boys are definitely the perfect choice. So good!
      I have been reading so many YA/fantasy novels last year that I’ve been trying to read different genres as well… Although I don’t think I will keep that up for long since I have tons of fantasy stories I’m dying to read. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • I added it to my to be read list! 🙂 That’s a good idea. I was reading a bunch of different genres lately and then got back on the fantasy mood. Lol. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I hope you’ll enjoy her books! And I know I’ll stick to fantasy once I pick up the first fantasy read so I’m tryng to read a bunch of different books first. 😉 With the Red Queen series and Red Rising lined up, it will be difficult though haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • There’s a huge hype around Red Queen and that might be part of the problem… I read it last year with low expectations and ended up really enjoying it.

        Like

  6. Pingback: Sunday Post #15 – February 28th | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

