Month In Review: March 2016

monthinreviewmarch2016

March was quite a busy month with a short trip to Uruguay, a wedding and my birthday taking away a lot of my reading time, but somehow I still managed to read more than I expected. A few rainy days and quite a lot of quick reads made it possible to almost reach the halfway mark of my Goodreads goal already! 😀 And since down here in Argentina it’s Autumn right now, I’m sure the colder (and sometimes wet) weather will help me read a lot more in the months to come.

  • Number of books read in March: 18 (+1 reread)
  • Total number of books read this year: 47 (+1 reread)
  • Total number of pages read in March: 5.581
  • Total number of pages read this year: 14.791

I managed to read a lot of books in the end in March, but none of them received a rating higher than 4 stars. In fact, 11 books received a 3 star rating or below, with one of them even being my first DNF ever. All in all quite disappointing; I’m keeping my fingers crossed next month’s reads will be better! On the brighter side: I’m right on track with my book reviews, which is a small miracle by itself. Some of them haven’t been posted yet, but are already scheduled. 😉

march2016rating4stars

4 STARS: Wow, this was really good. Close to amazing!
Kindred Spirits – by Rainbow Rowell // One – by Sarah Crossan // REREAD: Red Queen – by Victoria Aveyard // The Bookshop Book – by Jen Campbell // Random – by Tom Leveen

march2016rating35stars

3.5 STARS: Great read. Really entertaining!
The Miniaturist – by Jessie Burton // Dead Until Dark – by Charlaine Harris

march2016rating3stars

3 STARS: It was a nice read, but not fantastic. 
The Secrets Of Lake Road – by Karen Katchur // Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? – by Mindy Kaling // Apple And Rain – by Sarah Crossan // Beautiful Darkness – by Kami Garcia // Where Things Come Back – by John Corey Whaley

march2016rating25stars

2.5 STARS: I give this one the benefit of the doubt. Nothing too exciting. 
Steel Scars – by Victoria Aveyard // Glass Sword – by Victoria Aveyard

march2016rating2stars

2 STARS: It was ok. But mostly ‘meh’.
Queen Song – by Victoria Aveyard // Ugly Love – by Colleen Hoover // Disclaimer – by Renée Knight

march2016rating1stars

1 STAR: Boy, this one gave me a hard time. Not a book to touch again. 
Eve – by Iris Johansen

march2016rating0stars

0 STARS (DNF): I didn’t even bother to finish this one. Absolutely and totally horrible!
The Liar’s Chair – by Rebecca Whitney

A new year means new challenges… I decided to join in total four yearly challenges this time, and so far I’m right on track with all of them.  Hopefully I will be able to keep this up! 😀

# CHALLENGES #

As for my other blogging goals… I haven’t been paying a lot of attention to them and only managed to squeeze in my first reread of 2016. My TBR pile is still hopeless and I should work on those classics, Spanish reads and older reviews… My running has been put on hold temporarily until my knee agrees to behave again, but hopefully I will be working on my 5km goal again some time this month.

# OTHER READING/BLOGGING GOALS #

  • Read at least 5 classics (rereads don’t count): 0/5
  • Complete at least 5 series (rereads don’t count): 3/5 (the murder complex/never never/veronica mars)
  • Reread at least 3 books: 1/3 (red queen)
  • Bring my physical TBR pile below 200 books: 285/200
  • Read at least one book over 800 pages: 0/1 (longest book 608 pages)
  • Read at least 5 books in Spanish: 1/5
  • Join at least 5 challenges during the year
  • Finish older reviews that haven’t been posted yet: 4/10
  • Update older reviews to new format: 4/14
  • Reach 5km running! 2300m/5000m

Happy April and Happy Reading!

15 thoughts on “Month In Review: March 2016

  1. Impressive number of books read! Yay for getting reviews caught up too – I managed to do that all last week after being weeks behind. I’m sorry you didn’t have a book over 4 stars this month – I hope next month there are some really epic reads.

    • Thanks! I’m always behind with reviews haha, but like you I sat down last week and did a review marathon… Scheduling posts does take the pressure off blogging. 😉 I’m having high hopes this month will bring some great books!

  2. Well done. That’s an awesome amount of books! Hope your April is great too.
    I have the Miniaturist but still haven’t picked it up – I think the urge to do so has lessened somehow – I do love the cover though!
    Lynn 😀

    • Thanks! The Miniaturist is a really interesting read and I loved the setting… It’s not perfect, but definitely worth reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

