Teaser Tuesdays #88 – April 5th: Ice Like Fire

teasertuesdays

TEASER TUESDAYS is a weekly book meme originally featured at Books And A Beat. To participate, just open the book you are currently reading to a random page, and choose two ‘teaser’ sentences from somewhere on that page. (no spoilers!)

I started reading Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch last week, and while I ended up enjoying the first book quite a lot despite the love triangle, I can’t say the same for the sequel. The love triangle is really starting to get on my nerves and the pace is a bit slow as well… Hopefully things improve later on, but for now I’m not convinced by either Meira or her new quest.

goodreadsblurbicelikefire

My teaser (45%):

“Uncertainty gnaws at me, my ever-present worry growing in a new direction, and I look at the magically covered pit again. No heat anymore, like it never existed. Only the lever in the wine cask sits as a hint of the pit’s existence.”

What are you reading right now?

16 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays #88 – April 5th: Ice Like Fire

    • The first book is good despite the love triangle, but the sequel is definitely a disappointment… Such a shame because I was looking forward to it especially since I loved the worldbuilding.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Love triangles do seem to spoil stories in general… I still don’t know why so many authors seem to feel the need to include them in their work.

      Like

    • I normally like fantasy books, but lately too many of them have been involving love triangles and/or weak plots, so I think I might stay away from them for a little while… I really should read more mystery/thrillers in the first place.

      Like

    • The love triangle was already there in the first book, but the focus was more on the action so I wasn’t too bothered by it. Unfortunately the love triangle becomes more important in the sequel, which is definitely a bad thing…

      Like

    • Snow Like Ashes is really good and I would definitely recommend that one, but the sequel is kind of blah. Also, the third book will recently be published later this year, so it might be convenient to wait for a little while longer. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, interesting teaser! I’ve heard a lot of great things about this series, though I can understand why you’re frustrated by the love triangle! Hope the rest of the book is good, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ice like Fire definitely wasn’t as good as the first book, but Snow Like Ashes is without doubt worth reading! The worldbuilding is more than excellent.

      Like

Leave a Reply

