BOOK REVIEW: The Conspiracy Of Us – by Maggie Hall

brtheconspiracyofus

Title: The Conspiracy Of Us
(The Conspiracy Of Us #1)
Author: Maggie Hall
Genre: YA, Mystery, Romance
First published: January 13th 2015
Finished reading: April 8th 2016
Pages: 330
Rating 5qqq

“Toska.” He leaned forward, too. “It’s a Russian word. It has no translation into any other language, but the closest I’ve heard is the ache. A longing. The sense that something is missing, and even if you’re not sure what it is, you ache for it. Down to your bones.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I normally don’t like it when a book is compared to the work of a different author, but in this case I totally agree The Conspiracy Of Us bears similarities to one of the Ally Carter books I read last year (All Fall Down). And like with that series, I ended up loving The Conspiracy Of Us as well. I’m so glad my TBR jar decided it was time to start reading this series, because I haven’t felt this way about a fiction read in way too long! It’s true I didn’t care for the romance scenes and the ‘almost’ love triangle, but in this case the rest of the story more than made up for it. It’s easy to say Maggie Hall‘s writing had me hooked right from the first chapter; the story is fast-paced with just the right amount of plot twists, adrenaline and mystery. More importantly, since I love traveling and discovering new cultures myself, I could especially appreciate the Paris and Istanbul descriptions and the many historical references. I liked the main characters and their development as well (if you don’t count the romance scenes), and I’m really looking forward to find out what happens next. In short, The Conspiracy Of Us is basically just about everything I want in a good story. If you haven’t read it yet and like the genre, I strongly suggest trying out this series!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Avery West grew up thinking her father abandoned them when she was a baby. They have been moving around a lot because of her mother’s job and she always tries to keep a distance to the people around her so it won’t hurt too much when she has to say goodbye again. This time seems to be different though as she meets Jack, and it seems like he isn’t exactly who he claims to be. Soon her life is being turned around and she finds herself on a plane to Paris on her way to her newfound family… Although things are not as simple as Avery thinks. Apparently, her family is part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, and Avery might be the key to an ancient prophecy. While she is trying to unravel the mystery, Avery soon realizes she is in more danger than she thought… And the trail of clues leads her from Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul and other places she never would have imagined visiting, let alone with someone chasing her. Who can she really trust and will she unravel the mystery on time?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

It’s been a long time since I have love a series (that isn’t YA fantasy) this much. Besides the romance scenes I didn’t particularly care for, The Conspiracy Of Us is basically an example of what I would call a perfect read. A fast pace, easy-to-read prose, an interesting plot with just the right amount of plot twists, an international atmosphere, characters I can connect to… Check. Check. CHECK! As you might have guessed already, I really enjoyed this first book and I have already started reading the sequel as I’m writing this review. Recommended!

14 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Conspiracy Of Us – by Maggie Hall

  1. I’ve meant to read the book ever since I saw the book cover at the beginning of the year but I always thought it was a scifi book! But I’m so glad you liked it, you had me sold at the international atmosphere part!

    • I wasn’t sure what to expect either, but it’s defintely not sci-fi and more of a historical conspiracy plot mixed with action, an international setting and a bit of romance… Really good!

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Sunday Post #17 – April 24th | It's All About Books

  8. Pingback: Month In Review: April 2016 | It's All About Books

  9. Pingback: Bout Of Books 16.0 – Day 2 Update | It's All About Books

  10. Pingback: Scavenger Hunt Book Tag | It's All About Books

  11. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag | It's All About Books

  12. Pingback: TOP 10 Favorite New Authors Discovered In 2016 | It's All About Books

  13. Pingback: BEST OF 2016: TOP 5 YA | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

