BOOK REVIEW: All The Birds In The Sky – by Charlie Jane Anders

brallthebirdsinthesky

Title: All The Birds In The Sky
Author: Charlie Jane Anders
Genre: Fantasy, Science Fiction
First published: January 26th 2016
Finished reading: April 11th 2016
Pages: 316
Rating 2qqq

“You know… no matter what you do, people are going to expect you to be someone you’re not. But if you’re clever and lucky and work your butt off, then you get to be surrounded by people who expect you to be the person you wish you were.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

The reviews I’ve seen before reading All The Birds In The Sky are right; this book is WEIRD. I think this is one of those books that either works for you or it doesn’t. Unfortunately, I belong to the second group… And I have the feeling this is going to be another unpopular opinion review. Let’s get started, shall we? First of all, the pace was quite slow and it took me a long time to actually finish it. The plot was all over the place, I didn’t particularly like the characters and the story simply didn’t make sense to me. Also, I thought this was an adult novel, but most of it felt more like a middle grade/YA read; up until a few sex scenes were thrown in. WTF?! I normally like weird, but I feel that in this case it might just be too much. A lot of people think otherwise so don’t let my review stop you from reading this one if you think you would like it. There is one thing I know for sure though: I wish I had Charlie Jane Anders‘ imagination to write a story with a worldbuilding this complicated and fully of creativity. And with a cover this beautiful and interesting blurb I sure would have thought I would enjoy it a lot better… Such a shame I didn’t.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Patricia Delfine and Laurence Armstead are childhood friends and  have known each other for a long time, but that doesn’t take away they both have secrets. Magical powers, a mysterious Tree in the forest, the invention of a two-second time machine… Nothing exactly ordinary for sure and they ended up parting ways under mysterious circumstances during high school. Neither of them had it easy growing up, but now they are both adults, living in San Francisco and the world is falling apart around them. Laurence has become an engineering genius who is trying to avert a catastrophic breakdown through technological intervention, while Patricia is a graduate of Eltisley Maze, the hidden academy for the world’s magically gifted. They didn’t expect to see each other again in the first place, and less did they expect to be fighting on completely different teams… Because while Laurence’s plan is all about technology, Patricia and the other magicians want to repair the world’s ailments with the help of nature. Will they be able to save the world before it’s too late?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

Like I said, I really wanted to enjoy this story and I normally like anything weird and extraordinary, but I think in this case All The Birds In The Sky just was a bit too much for me to handle. The plot was all over the place, I didn’t really like the characters, the pace was a bit slow, the story didn’t really make sense and the whole age-group-problem was confusing as well. I know a lot of people seem to have enjoyed it, but this story really just wasn’t for me.

13 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: All The Birds In The Sky – by Charlie Jane Anders

  1. This is a book I’ve been wanting to read for a while mostly because of the cover. Based on your review I may leave it for a bit although I’m sure I’ll get to it at some point.

    • I first fell in love with the cover as well, but even though the story itself was quite original I mostly thought it just was too weird for me. I hope you will enjoy it better though! 🙂

  2. I’ve been torn over this book. At first, the plot intrigued me, but then I read another version of the synopsis, (why does there end up being multiple versions?!), and it put me off.

    I may give it a miss simply because it’s not one that has me excited anyway.If not, I’ll find it in the library.

    • Library might just be the safest option, especially since a lot of people seem to either love it or have similar reactions to mine… It’s without doubt a weird story, and sometimes weird just isn’t for everyone. 😉

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Sunday Post #17 – April 24th | It's All About Books

  8. Pingback: Month In Review: April 2016 | It's All About Books

  9. Pingback: Scavenger Hunt Book Tag | It's All About Books

  10. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

