BOOK REVIEW: Maybe Someday – by Colleen Hoover

brmaybesomeday

Title: Maybe Someday
(Maybe #1)
Author: Colleen Hoover
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
First published: March 18th 2014
Finished reading: April 22nd 2016
Pages: 385
Rating 3,5qqq

“Sometimes in life, we need a few bad days in order to keep the good ones in perspective.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I seem to be having a love/hate relationship with Colleen Hoover books. While I loved November 9 and enjoyed the first two Never Never novellas, I really disliked both the third Never Never part and Ugly Love. It doesn’t happen often that an author is able to cause such contradicting feelings with their work… And to be honest I was a bit afraid to pick up Maybe Someday. Luckily enough I ended up mostly enjoying this book. In fact, up until about 55-60% I would have given it the highest rating, because I really loved the first part. The lyrics that are incorporated in the text make the already entertaining and easy-to-read prose even more enjoyable and I LOVED Sydney and Ridge. The musical elements in general and their roommates Warren and Bridgette were definitely a huge bonus as well and even Ridge’s girlfriend Maggie seemed like a great character. Unfortunately, after the mark mentioned above things took a turn for the worse. I won’t go into details to avoid spoilers, but let’s just say Maggie has a ‘secret’ and when it was revealed and things escalated I wasn’t so sure I liked the story OR the two main characters anymore. And it wasn’t even because of the love triangle, because the first part of Maybe Someday was actually one of those few exceptions where the love triangle didn’t bother me. In short, for me the story started out with a blast and got weaker towards the ending… And I still kind of wish she wouldn’t have added the ‘Maggie plot twist’. Still, the first part is good enough to (mostly) make up for it. Recommended for fans of the genre!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Sydney things she has a perfectly comfortable life as a student with a steady part-time job, living with her best friend and a great boyfriend she has been with for a long time. Even her afternoons studying in listening to the music coming from the balcony opposite hers seem to be perfect. But that all soon comes to an end when she finds out her boyfriend is cheating on her with her best friend. She storm out of their appartment and is suddenly homeless… But not for long, as the mysterious man behind the music, Ridge, decides to let her stay in his appartment he shares with two more roommates. Their initial connection is purely related to music, since Sydney seems to be able to put the lyrics to the songs he plays. But the heart can cheat on the mind, and things are starting to become more complicated…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

Like I said above, I LOVED the first 55-60% or so of Maybe Someday and literally flew through the pages. The prose, the musical elements, Sydney and Ridge, Warren and his hilarious comments… Everything was just perfect and I even managed to ignore the love triangle. But then… BAM! The plot twist happened that made me change my feelings for the two main characters and I kind of lost my respect for them. In the end it is still an interesting story, but not as good as I thought it would be when I was reading the first part.

12 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Maybe Someday – by Colleen Hoover

  1. I get why you would say that about the twist. It actually didn’t bother me. I guess it’s because I know that sort of thing happens all of the time. While it isn’t pretty or good, it’s real. And I felt like neither of them truly set out to hurt anyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t yet read this one. I also liked November 9 and have been a bit reluctant to read Ugly Love because of all the negative reviews. However, this one seems okay, atleast you kinda liked it. Great review. I will add it to my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Most of Maybe Someday is definitely really good and I liked the main characters, so I would definitely suggest reading this one over Ugly Love. And the best part: the Maybe Not novella is even slightly better than this one!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh great. I have had Ugly Love on my TBR list but was really reluctant to read it. I think that I will skip it and just get this one. Thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  8. Pingback: Sunday Post #18 – May 8th | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

