BOOK REVIEW: Daughter Of Smoke & Bone – by Laini Taylor

brdaughterofsmokeandbone

Title: Daughter Of Smoke & Bone
(Daughter Of Smoke & Bone #1)
Author: Laini Taylor
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
First published: September 27th 2011
Finished reading: May 8th 2016
Pages: 418
Rating 2qqq

“Hope can be a powerful force. Maybe there’s no actual magic in it, but when you know what you hope for most and hold it like a light within you, you can make things happen, almost like magic.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

Warning: unpopular opinion ahead. I think I have lost count of the times this series has been recommended to me ever since I first started my blog. I’ve had a copy of Daughter Of Smoke & Bone on my TBR pile for a long time, and the main reason I finally decided to pick it up was that it came out as the winner of the which series should I read next? poll. One of the things of starting such a popular series is that it can both ways; and I kind of have an ‘unpopular opinion’ reputation when it comes to hyped books in the first place. And guess what? Daughter Of Smoke & Bone turned out to be one of them. And trust me, I feel I have been nice with the rating, because I had a STRONG dislike for the second half of this book and even thought about just DNFing it. Why? First of all, let me make it clear that I loved the first part of the story. The worldbuilding is great and I simply loved Laini Taylor‘s prose and descriptions of both the different cities and the magical elements. Karou starts out like such an interesting character as well; it’s so easy to connect to her and really made the first part into something special. But then Akiva showed up… And just as I already was afraid of, he turned out to be one of those typical pretty boy male love interests. Insta-love, forbidden love similar to Romeo & Juliet, sappy romance scenes and dialogue, a strong female character falling in love with the pretty boy and completely loses her original charm… What a way to ruin a story with so much potential! I already have a copy of the sequel, but I’m really worried about actually reading it now… Because (the second part of) Daughter Of Smoke & Bone definitely wasn’t for me.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Karou seems to be just another young art student living in Prague, but there is more to her than what meets the eye. People believe the monsters in her sketchbooks are a figment of her imagination, but is that really true? And what about the fact that she is able to speak multiple languages perfectly, disappears often on mysterous errands and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that way? Karou has seen things most humans haven’t, growing up in a hidden shop where the chimaera Brimstone collects teeth of all sizes he uses for who knows what afterwards. He never seems to want to answer questions about her past, but it seems like she won’t be waiting much longer before she finds out the truth… Mysterious winged strangers mark the different doorways to Brimstone’s world with black hand prints; marking the beginning of the end… And Karou soon has to fight to stay alife. She crosses paths with the beautiful haunted Akiva, who seems to be just as curious to find out what Karou really is. He should and could have killed her, but something makes him decide otherwise… What will happen to them?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

Like I said, I loved the first part of Daughter Of Smoke & Bone and the story was well on its way to being added to my list of all time favorites. Then Akiva appeared and the story was turned into a Romeo and Juliet spin off… And I lost my interest completely. I know it’s almost impossible to avoid romance in a YA fantasy series nowadays, but after such a promising start I was really REALLY disappointed with the road this story took. I was browsing my kindle quotes for this review, and the sheer amount of sappy love quotes made me want to vomit… I know just about everybody seems to love this series and I’m glad, but unfortunately I’m not one of them.

13 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Daughter Of Smoke & Bone – by Laini Taylor

  1. :/ I’m sorry you didn’t like the book. The next book focuses much less on romance and more on the horrors of war. But if you don’t want to continue the series, I understand.

    You know what you might want to try if you like Laini’s writing style and world-building? Her Faeries of Dreamdark duology. It’s borderline MG-YA (and no romance at all), but it was such a fun read.

    • I will probably try the second book, especially since I already have a copy and I really enjoyed her writing style and worldbuilding. And I will definitely add Blackbringer to my wishlist as well; thanks for the recommendation!

  2. Oh too bad about the romance, the description made it sound super interesting. Almost like a manga or anime in book form. Oh well, I’ll pass on this then cuz the romance thing would bother me too.

    • The worldbuilding and prose is excellent, but the romance mostly ruined the story for me. I’m keeping my fingers crossed the sequel is better, but I definitely wouldn’t recommend it if cheesy romance bothers you as well.

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  7. I’m sorry you had the same reaction I did, especially since I know a lot of people hyped this (to you and me both). Still haven’t convinced myself to pick up the sequel, but here’s hoping for both our sakes, especially given how imaginative the world is.

    • I’ve heard the romance has less romance and more action, but I admit I’m a bit afraid to pick it up… I guess some books just aren’t for everyone. 😉

  8. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  9. Pingback: Month In Review: May 2016 | It's All About Books

  10. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

