BOOK REVIEW: See How They Run – by Ally Carter

brseehowtheyrun

Title: See How They Run
(Embassy Row #2)
Author: Ally Carter
Genre: YA, Mystery. Thriller
First published: December 22nd 2015
Finished reading: May 14th 2016
Pages: 336
Rating 4qqq

“I’ve been wrong, and I’ve been crazy. But this is the first time I’ve ever truly felt like a fool.”

myrambles1review

I remember loving the first book All Fall Down last year and the wait for the sequel was a long one. But somehow, when See How They Run was finally published, I never ended up reading it straight away. Why is still a mystery, but I’m glad I finally did manage to read the sequel. See How They Run might not be as good as the first book in my opinion, but it was still a very quick and entertaining read. I think the wait for the third book is going to be even more painful after that cliffhanger ending… Without doubt a huge surprise! I liked the conspiracy plot in the sequel, and the prose was just as good as ever. Embassy Row is my first Ally Carter series, but I’m definitely going to pick up more of her work in the future. The story itself is fast-paced and I like the international feel and the history behind the country where the story is set (Adria). What made me like See How They Run slightly less than the first book is that the main character Grace is starting to sound more and more self-absorbed and it is getting annoying. I understand she has had some pretty bad experiences in the past, but it tiring to constantly read how broken and messed up she is and that people should stay away… And I’m not sure about Alexei either. Still, I will be waiting impatiently until the next book is published next year.

shortsummary1review

WARNING: Possible spoilers! Please don’t read this summary if you haven’t read the first book yet. I’ll keep the summary super short but it’s impossible to keep it completely spoiler-free…

Grace still isn’t over whatever happened that day her mom died, and it seems like her past has come back to haunt her. She might be in danger yet again, and this time she won’t be the only one who will get hurt if she doesn’t stop it on time. Embassy Row is a complicated place, and one wrong move can completely destroy the fragile balance… Especially between countries with a history like the US and Russia. That one night at a party turns into something a whole lot darker, and soon Grace and her friends will have to work together to find out what really happened before people draw the wrong conclusions and others get hurt. But who can be trusted?

finalthoughtsreview

Like I said before, See How They Run is not as good as the first book, but only by little and mostly because of Grace. The prose itself is easy to read and as good as ever, and together with a solid plot and many plot twists it is without doubt an entertaining read. The cliffhanger ending can be taken both ways, especially since the third book will recently be published in 2017, but it definitely leaves room for another very intriguing story. If you like a good YA spy thriller, make sure to pick up this series.

9 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: See How They Run – by Ally Carter

  1. I picked this up from the library not realizing it was a sequel. I haven’t read your review due to the big Spoiler warning but I take it I should probably not read this book without having read the first one?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah it’s definitely better to read the first book before reading See How They Run, because the sequel doesn’t explain too much about what happened in the past… Plus, the first book is better in the first place. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Month In Review: May 2016 | It's All About Books

  8. Pingback: Scavenger Hunt Book Tag | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

