BOOK REVIEW: Binge – by Tyler Oakley

brbinge

Title: Binge
Author: Tyler Oakley
Genre: Non Fiction, Memoir, Humor
First published: October 20th 2015
Finished reading: May 18th 2016
Pages: 307
Rating 4qqq

“No person, no matter how important society deems their relationship to you, has the right to denounce you for who you are.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

Is it weird that somehow I end up reading memoirs of people I haven’ t really heard of most of the time? Because that’s what happened yet again when I decided to pick up my copy of Binge on a whim. The colorcul cover was enough to intrigue me, and even though I didn’t know much about Tyler Oakley beforehand, I still really enjoyed reading his story. These essays are quirky, feel brutally honest, sometimes uncomfortable but mostly hilarious. And the photos and Tweets are a nice touch as well! I’m not really into watching Youtube channels myself, but this memoir without doubt made me curious about his channel. I’m not sure Binge is for everyone and you have to like reading these kind of quirky memoirs and/or at least know a little about Tyler Oakley to properly enjoy it, but it is without doubt recommendable for the right person. The essays in general have a fast pace (except one or two around the middle) and basically are a mix of personal, witty, serious and funny stories about Tyler Oakley‘s life. The prose is quite easy to read as well!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Tyler Oakley tells us all about his past and how he eventually became a pop-culture phenomenon and the most prominent GLBT voice on Youtube. Binge is a collection of essays about both Tyler as an awkward child growing up, Tyler coming out, Tyler during high school, Tyler during his Uni years and afterwards; each essay revealing a mix of personal mishaps and other hilarious or personal moments in his life no matter how awkward or potentially uncomfortable.

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I like reading memoirs and it doesn’t really matter to me if I actually know something about the person in question, which might sound a bit weird. I guess I care more about if the memoir itself is entertaining/interesting, and Binge is without doubt a very entertaining and quirky read. I don’t know a lot about Tyler Oakley and I have never seen his Youtube channel, but he comes over as a very interesting person I could definitely see myself hang out with. The essays are personal, brutally honest and for some people maybe even a little uncomfortable, but the stories are without doubt entertaining to read. Binge might not be for everyone, but definitely recommended for the right person.

7 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Binge – by Tyler Oakley

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. I like reading memoirs too and I have only read a few by people who I know.Like you, I have gotten to know some people through their memoirs. Lovely review, I am intrigued by this one.

    • Good to hear I’m not the only one reading memoirs of people I don’t really know… Like you said, it is really interesting to get to know somehow through their writing. Binge is definitely an entertaining read!

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Month In Review: May 2016 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

