Cover Characteristic #1 – May 29th

covercharacteristic

I saw this meme popping up the other day and I thought it would be a fun way to take a closer look at all those beautiful covers out there. Cover Characteristic is hosted at Sugar & Snark and has a weekly theme.

covercharacteristicinfo

This week officially is all about benches, but since I couldn’t find any I’m cheating a little and went with last week’s theme: ONLY THE BACK OF PEOPLE.

cconlybackofpeople

5. I Was Here by Gayle Forman (3,5/5 stars, read in September 2015): I’m not sure I actually like the color combination of this cover and I wish the font of the title would have been different, since it doesn’t seem to match with the background or the rest of the text.

4. The Night She Disappeared by April Henry (4/5 stars, read in October 2015): The background is a perfect match for the story, but I don’t like the color and font of the title that much. A title in white would have worked better…

3. All Fall Down by Ally Carter (4,5/5 stars, read in August 2015): I actually really like this cover already, but I guess the red title does clash a little with the bottom half of the background.

2. The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult (4,5/5 stars, read in April 2015): I really like the colors used in this cover; my only ‘complaint’ would be that it doesn’t really show what this story is about.

Now on to my favorite cover of this week:

annadressedinblood

1. Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake (4,5/5 stars, read in October 2015): Not only does this cover set the atmosphere perfectly, I also love the use of black & white with a touch of red. An easy favorite!

 

What is your personal favorite out of these 5 covers? And have you read any of these books yourself? Feel free to comment! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Cover Characteristic #1 – May 29th

  1. I couldn’t tell if you were rating the covers or if those were your book review ratings haha but I’m definitely drawn to Anna Dressed in Blood and am eagerly waiting for the film adaptation to come out (even if it’s spearheaded by Stephanie Meyer’s production company).

    • Haha I didn’t even realize I put the covers in the exact same order as the review ratings! Although I think Anna Dressed In Blood would have been my favorite story as well anyway (with All Fall Down as a close second). I’m keeping my fingers crossed the movie will be just as good as the book (and also that they won’t be holding back on the ‘bloody’ effects and make it properly scary; no sparkly ghosts please!) 😉

    • I still can’t believe I haven’t discovered this meme before! It’s a great excuse to get to talk more about all those beautiful covers. I really like the cover of All Fall Down as well (and the story is great!). 🙂

Leave a Reply

