WWW Wednesdays #93 – June 1st

wwwwednesdaysWWW WEDNESDAYS is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words and is all about answering the three questions below.

  • WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

wwwjun1st2016currently

Basically, I haven’t been having a lot of free time to read lately… So while I have started both these books above, I’m not sure when I will actually finish them. First up is More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera, a book that has been recommended to me quite a lot and I’m really looking forward to. The other is a Sherlock Holmes retelling: A Study In Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro. I can’t wait to continue reading both soon!

  • WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

wwwjun1st2016finished

* The first book I managed to finish is The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, which turned out to be an entertaining enough middle grade classic. Still, I probably would have enjoyed it better reading it about twenty years ago…
* Another book I was able to finish is Heartsick by Chelsea Cain, which turned out to be one of the best whodunit reads I’ve read in a while. I will definitely be reading more of this series! Some of the scenes might be a bit gruesome if you have a weak stomach, but I personally didn’t mind. The main character Archie is a detective with a very messed up personal life (which is not original at all in this genre), but the story more than makes up for it.
* The last title I managed to finish is Housebroken by The Behrg, which turned out to be a really messed up thriller/horror story about a kidnapping similar to your worst nightmare… If you enjoy a good horror read, definitely make sure to check out this book!

  • WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

wwwjun1st2016next

I haven’t be able to read much, so yet again I haven’t been able to read many of the titles I mentioned before. But since I’ve finally finished Housebroken, I have a new pending ARC: The Munich Girl by Phyllis Edgerly Ring, I love historical fiction set during WWII, so I’m looking forward to start reading it. I also still want to read Out Of The Easy by Ruta Sepetys, but I don’t know how much longer I can resist the temptation of reading A Court Of Mist And Fury by Sarah J. Maas… Plus, I’m afraid I will run into unwanted spoilers any day now. 😉 My newest TBR jar pick is still The Opposite Of Loneliness by Marina Keegan.

21 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #93 – June 1st

  1. I’m starting to wonder if it’s possible for detective stories to avoid the stereotypes. I suppose it’s a case of if it ain’t broke don’t fix it 🙂

    Will be interested to see what you think of More Happy Than Not as I’ve heard a lot of really good things about it.

      • I’ve been wondering the exact same thing as well… It does work well in quite a few detective stories, but it kind of leaves you wondering about the circumstances around detectives and if you really have to have a messed up life in order to be good at your job.

    • I guess it depends on the story if the stereotype actually bothers me or not… In Heartsick it worked really well. And I can’t wait to continue More Happy Than Not since like you I’ve heard great things about it… I wish I had more spare time to read!

    • Definitely keep it on hold until you can do that; it’s not a bad read, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as an adult. And I need to pick up ACOMAF ASAP! Basically, I have no free time right now so finding time to read has been hard… Hopefully next week though.

    • I’m hoping that since I enjoyed the first book, ACOMAF will be just as good… Although I’m afraid of the possible amount of romance involved. The Opposite Of Loneliness sounds really good as well; I like reading non fiction every now and then.

    • Heartsick was such a good read! I’m already thinking of when I’m going to pick up the sequel Sweetheart. I personally wasn’t that impressed by The Little Prince; I think it’s a book that works best reading it as a child or reading it to children… You definitely won’t be missing anything special though. Happy reading!

  2. I’ve been wanting to read ‘Out of the Easy’ for a while as well. It sounds really entertaining. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • I’m hoping to get to Out Of The Easy soon, because I really enjoyed her writing in Between Shades Of Gray. Happy reading and thanks for hosting!

    • It’s been really hard to avoid spoilers for sure! I have been avoiding any posts with ACOMAF mentioned, but I definitely need to read it ASAP.

  3. I haven’t heard of most of these books before, so I guess I’ll be waiting to see your reactions to them before I decide whether to add them to my TBR or not. And I’m with you on wanting to get to ACoMaF, but my hold hasn’t come in yet! So I’m not face-to-face with temptation and maybe I’ll actually get through everything else I need to read first.

    • Not actually having your copy of ACOMAF yet does help resist temptation! I should read my other ARC first, but I think I will just give in and read ACOMAF as soon as I finish my current reads haha.

Leave a Reply

