Cover Characteristic #2 – June 5th

covercharacteristic

I saw this meme popping up the other day and I thought it would be a fun way to take a closer look at all those beautiful covers out there. Cover Characteristic is hosted at Sugar & Snark and has a weekly theme.

covercharacteristicinfo

This week officially is all about lipstick, but since I couldn’t find any fitting covers I’m cheating a little and looked for covers with: FEMALE LIPS.

cclips

5. A Midsummer’s Nightmare by Kody Keplinger (read in June 2015; 3/5 stars): This cover works for the genre, but I’m not a big fan of chick lit in the first place and don’t really like covers with people just ‘acting pretty’. The colors work well for the summer theme though, although I don’t like the greenish color of the word ‘Nightmare’.

4. All The Truth That’s In Me by Julie Berry (read in January 2016; 4,5/5 stars): I like the combination of black & white with a slash of red, but I don’t think the cover is a good match for this story. I actually thought it would be a contemporary romance story based on the cover, but it turned out to be a historical fiction read! 

3. Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris (read in March 2016; 3,5/5 stars): Yet again I like the color combination, but I don’t think I would have picked this book up solely based on the cover. It looks too much like a simple sexy romance read…

2. Hero by Belinda Crawford (read in May 2016; 4,5/5 stars): I really like this cover! The colors, the moon in the back… It definitely was a hard choice between this one and cover number one.

Now on to my favorite cover of this week:

wheredyougobernadette

1. Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple (read in November 2015; 3/5 stars): Although I didn’t really like the story itself, I do think the cover fits it perfectly. It’s quirky and definitely catches your attention as a potential buyer.

 

What is your personal favorite out of these 5 covers? And have you read any of these books yourself? Feel free to comment!:)

8 thoughts on “Cover Characteristic #2 – June 5th

  1. My favorite cover is Dead Until Dark. The only book I read of these five haha. I agree it looks so much like just a simple sexy read, but I just love the red. A color I funnily enough never feel I can pull off.

    • I love the cover as well and the red really jumps out! It’s actually the one I liked most, but like I said I wouldn’t have gotten the book solely based on the cover because I don’t like sexy romance reads haha. Sookie Stackhouse is definitely an exception to the rule though. 😉

  2. I kinda cheated too on this one too- it was hard. I like dead Until Dark the best, but I like A Midsummer’s Nightmare too. She looks angry in that one or like she’s looking back at something, and it makes me curious about the book. Great list!

    • I agree Dead Until Dark is definitely the most striking! And the girl in A Midsummer’s Nightmare does look a bit angry, which fits the book perfectly.

Leave a Reply

