BOOK REVIEW: Tell Me Three Things – by Julie Buxbaum

brtellmethreethings

Title: Tell Me Three Things
Author: Julie Buxbaum
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
First published: April 5th 2016
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Finished reading: June 21st 2016
Pages: 336
Rating 4,5qqq

“One of the worst parts about someone dying is thinking back to all those times you didn’t ask the right questions, all those times you stupidly assumed you’d have all the time in the world. And this too: how all that time feels like not much time at all.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

After hearing repeatedly I just HAD to read this book, I decided to give and pick up Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum. And I’m glad I did, because I really loved it! In a way I’m still surprised I enjoyed this story as much as I did, because the idea behind the plot is not exactly original and does sound a bit cheesy. To make things even worse: there is even a love triangle (rectangle?!) included in Tell Me Three Things, which normally is a huge dealbreaker for me. I’m not saying the whole multiple love interest theme wasn’t annoying, but this book is one of the few exceptions where I can still thoroughly enjoy the story anyway. Sure, some of the plot is quite cheesy and the way the story it told (using e-mails and text messages) might not be original, but in Tell Me Three Things it just works. This novel has a fast pace, is both easy and highly entertaining to read and is without doubt an excellent summer read. And although I wasn’t completely convinced by Jessie as a main character (I’m still not sure I actually like her), I absolutely LOVED SN. The whole mystery behind his identity definitely makes this read addicting and you will most likely love the ending! Recommended for those who enjoy reading contemporary romance and/or need a feel-good story.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

It’s been two years since her mother died, and Jessie’s father has decided to get married again with a woman he met online. The worst part: Jessie is forced to move across the country, leave behind her best friend and old life and live with her new stepmonster and teenage son in Los Angeles. She doesn’t feel at home at all in this new town, home and school where everything and everyone seems so different. But just as she is thinking about escaping and somehow go back to Chicago, she receives an email from a person calling himself Somebody/Nobody (SN). SN offers to help her find her way in Wood Valley High School, but Jessie is not so sure the sender is actually honest. She doesn’t want to accept his help, but what else is there to do in a situation that feels this desperate? Jessie decides to write back and rely on the information SN gives, and slowly she is starting to feel a bit better about her new life… And SN is starting to play a big role in her life. But who is SN in real life? Jessie wants to met SN in person, but maybe some mysteries should stay unsolved…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I have to say I wasn’t sure about this book at first, because I’m normally not really into (cheesy) romance stories. I decided to give it a go anyway after quite a few raving reviews, and Tell Me Three Things turns out to be the exception to the rule. Sure, this story has a love triangle, a (partly) cheesy plot and might not be that original, but I loved it anyway. This novel by Julie Buxbaum is the perfect feel-good read that anyone who enjoys reading the genre should give a go.

13 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Tell Me Three Things – by Julie Buxbaum

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. I love a good contemporary every now and then… after this glowing review I am going to give ‘Tell me three things a go.’ Don’t you love the excitement of finding yet another new book to add to your reading pile? Hrm – does this make you an enabler? Well, if it does, I hope to return the favor someday – buying books can’t be that bad of an addiction, right? Right? (Please say no.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you like the genre, definitely try this one! Even though I normally avoid (cheesy) romance, I still loved this book. And I think that if book buying would have been a bad addiction, there would be a lot of us looking for an AA variety to help us stop doing so haha. You can never have enough books! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Month In Review: June 2016 | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag | It's All About Books

  8. Pingback: Rainbow Book Tag | It's All About Books

  9. Pingback: TOP 10 Favorite New Authors Discovered In 2016 | It's All About Books

  10. Pingback: BEST OF 2016: TOP 5 YA | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

