Cover Characteristic #5 – July 3rd

covercharacteristic

I saw this meme popping up the other day and I thought it would be a fun way to take a closer look at all those beautiful covers out there. Cover Characteristic is hosted at Sugar & Snark and has a weekly theme.

covercharacteristicinfo

This week is all about covers with FEATHERS. I actually found a lot of them, but these below are my favorites in no particular order (except for the last two).

ccjuly3rd2016feathers

The Circle by Sara B. Elfgren and Mats Strandberg: I’m not sure when I will actually read this book, but I do love the cover. The use of black&white with a contrast color is definitely right up my alley and I like the illustration in the middle. 

Antigoddess by Kendare BlakeAgain, I’m not sure about the book itself, but I do love the cover. Especially the contrast of the white feather with the dark blackground and the hint of blood in the water… Definitely makes you wonder what the book is about.

End Of Days by Susan Ee (read in September 2015; 4/5 stars): I like the color combination of this one, although I would probably loved this cover even better if the font would have been different. The words look a little too ‘thin’ and don’t really stand out (especially the title). 

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley (read in July 2015; 2,5/5 stars): I wish I would have loved the story as much as the cover, because it’s simply gorgeous. I love the colors, the feather slowly transforming, the background… The only thing I might change would be the font.

Now on to my favorite cover of this week:

18166936

1. The Strange And Beautiful Sorrows Of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton (read in May 2016; 3/5 stars): Again, I wish I would have enjoyed this story as much as the cover, because it’s just stunning. I love the illustration, the font, the color combination… Without doubt one of my all time favorite covers.

What is your personal favorite out of these 5 covers? And have you read any of these books yourself? Feel free to comment!:)

14 thoughts on “Cover Characteristic #5 – July 3rd

  1. I love The Strange And Beautiful Sorrows Of Ava Lavender! Stunning cover. Magonia’s is pretty good too. I don’t think I own a book with a feather on the cover.

  2. I like The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows as well, but I Antigoddess and Magonia as well. In fact Antigoddess might be my favorite- I don’t know what it’s about either, but it sure is a nice cover!

Leave a Reply

