Month In Review: June 2016

monthinreviewjune2016

jazminnnnJune was probably my worst reading month in a long time… With the upcoming trip to The Netherlands and all the paperwork I need to get in order before August, I haven’t been having a lot of reading time. Add a very nasty flu and a fantasy reading slump, and I’m surprised I managed to actually finish 11 books (although a few were short reads). Finally signing up for Netgalley did help me get back on track though, and I have been reading more during the last days of June. And since it’s already freezing outside here, I’m hoping to get more reading done in July before I leave for my trip. Preferably with a hot beverage and my cat Jazmin closeby. 😉

  • Number of books read in June: 11
  • Total number of books read this year: 93 (+1 reread)
  • Total number of pages read in June: 3.270
  • Total number of pages read this year: 29.009

June was a pretty good month when it comes to ratings with one new 5 star rating and four other titles with 4 stars or more. Sure, three books really disappointed me, but the good reads definitely made up for it!


june2016wrapup5starrating

5 STARS: Absolutely and entirely mind blowing! I suggest you to pick up a copy now. 
All The Missing Girls – by Megan Miranda

june2016wrapup45starrating

4.5 STARS: This one was almost perfect. Surely fantastic! 
Tell Me Three Things – by Julie Buxbaum

june2016wrapup4starrating

4 STARS: Wow, this was really good. Close to amazing!
A Study In Charlotte – by Brittany Cavallaro // The Munich Girl – by Phyllis Edgerly Ring // The Ex – by Alafair Burke

june2016wrapup35starrating

3.5 STARS: Great read. Really entertaining!
The Opposite Of Loneliness – by Marina Keegan // Seven Ways We Lie – by Riley Redgate

june2016wrapup3starrating

3 STARS: It was a nice read, but not fantastic. 
More Happy Than Not – by Adam Silvera

june2016wrapup2starrating

2 STARS: It was ok. But mostly ‘meh’.
We Awaken –  by Calista Lynne

june2016wrapup15starrating

1.5 STARS: The story wasn’t horrible, but there still isn’t another word to describe it but ‘bad’.
Heart Of Tin – by Danielle Paige // Hitman Anders And The Meaning Of It All – by Jonas Jonasson


In 2016 I decided to join in total four yearly challenges. So far I’m right on track with most of them, so I’m not really worried yet.

# CHALLENGES #

As for my other blogging goals…Basically, I haven’t made any progress since last month, and my TBR pile has even increased. Oops! I don’t think I will be able to do much in July either, but hopefully I will be able to at least control my TBR pile better. And running. I’m keeping my fingers crossed my knee won’t be bothering me again when I will try to start running again next week.

# OTHER READING/BLOGGING GOALS #

  • Read at least 5 classics (rereads don’t count): 3/5
  • Complete at least 5 series (rereads don’t count): 3/5 (the murder complex/never never/veronica mars)
  • Reread at least 3 books: 2/3 (red queen, harry potter y la piedra filosofal)
  • Bring my physical TBR pile below 200 books: 350/200
  • Read at least one book over 800 pages: 0/1 (longest book 608 pages)
  • Read at least 5 books in Spanish: 2/5
  • Join at least 5 challenges during the year
  • Finish older reviews that haven’t been posted yet: 4/10
  • Update older reviews to new format: 4/14
  • Reach 5km running! 2300m/5000m

Happy July and Happy Reading!

11 thoughts on “Month In Review: June 2016

  1. Nice post, I like your ratings system and how you’ve grouped your books by rating 🙂
    It looks like you’re almost finished your goodreads challenge, good on you, I am a little behind mine.
    I hope you are feeling better, I had the flu recently as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! It’s still early in the year so there’s lots of time to catch up on the goodreads challenge… And I’m better thanks; the flu was a nasty one, but then again the weather didn’t really help either. 😉 I hope you feel better as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You made some really good reading progress despite the slow month. 11 books is still pretty impressive and most of them seemed to have been good reads for you.I hope that the flu passed. All the best with your trip and Jazmin looks so adorable 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I agree, 11 books isn’t too bad and at least I’m not behind with my challenges… Jazmin isn’t really a ‘people-cat’ but the cold weather makes her want to be inside more. 😉

      Like

  3. So glad you had a good month with book ratings! I felt like my June was just blehhh. And not that many great reads. I can’t wait to read Tell Me Three Things. I was going to put it as a July read, but I’m trying to work on my older books and I just got that one. So maybe next month! I’ve also had More Happy Than Not on my TBR for awhile now since it released, so I want to get to that soon. Heart of Tin, oh boy. That book was the worst, lol. I still need to read the last two novellas that were released.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a shame! I hope you will end up enjoying Tell Me Three Things as much as I did… It’s definitely on my list of 2016 favorites even though it does have a love triangle and it’s kind of cheesy. I need to read the last two novellas as well, but I’m taking a little break after Heart Of Tin haha. I will probably read them just before the third book, although I have no idea when that will be. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

