Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

midyearbookfreakouttag

I was tagged for the Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag earlier this month by Ajoobacats Blog and I thought it was a great way to review the books I’ve read so far this year! Here we go…


1. Best Book You’ve Read Yet in 2016.

I seriously can’t narrow it down to just one… So I’m going to cheat and pick a favorite for various genres.

  • Fantasy

adarkershadeofmagic

A Darker Shade Of Magic by V.E. Schwab

  • Historical Fiction

allthelightwecannotsee

All The Light We Cannot See by Antony Doerr

  • Contemporary / Romance

I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

  • Mystery /Thriller

allthemissinggirls

All The Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

YA (Ok, I cheated a little with this category, but I couldn’t NOT mention this book)

theconspiracyofus

The Conspiracy Of Us by Maggie Hall

2. Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2016.

agatheringofshadowsmapoffates

That would be between A Gathering Of Shadows by V.E. Schwab and Map Of Fates by Maggie Hall. Both sequels weren’t as strong as the first book, but still great reads!

3. New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To.

thefirechild

There are SO many new releases I want to read! But this month I’m definitely going to try The Fire Child by S.K. Tremayne.

4. Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year.

crookedkingdom

Without doubt Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo.

5. Biggest Disappointment.

allthebirdsintheskydaughterofsmokeandbone

That would be between All The Birds In The Sky by Charlie Jane Anders and Daughter Of Smoke And Bone by Laini Taylor.

6. Biggest Surprise.

allthetruththatsinme

All The Truth That’s In Me by Julie Berry

7. Favorite New Author.

I’ve discovered many great new authors this year, but my favorites would be both Maggie Hall and V.E. Schwab.

8. Newest Fictional Crush.

Ehm, I don’t know? I have to confess I never actually have a crush on characters… Call me cheesy, but I’m already too in love with my hubby. 😉

9. Newest Favorite Character.

adarkershadeofmagicseries

I love the Shades Of Magic characters!

10. Book That Made You Cry.

extraordinarymeans

Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

11. Book That Made You Happy.

tellmethreethings

Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

12. Favorite Book to Film Adaptation.

I’m not sure I have seen any of this year’s book to film adaptations yet… Shocking, I know.

13. Favorite Post You Have Done This Year.

Call me a nerd, but I love numbers and graphics. 25 TBR Jar Picks: The Numbers was a fun post to write! As was January-April 2016: The Numbers

14. Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year.

I think it’s impossible to pick just one or even a few favorite covers. There are so many gorgeous ones out there!

15. What Books Do You Need to Read by the End of the Year.

What about all the books on my TBR pile? Something impossible, I know I know. But these below are a few that are on my priority list:

  • A Court Of Mist And Fury by Sarah J. Maas
  • An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
  • Broken Hearts, Fences And Other Things To Mend by Katie Finn
  • Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone
  • More Than This by Patrick Ness
  • Red Rising by Pierce Brown
  • Room by Emma Donoghue
  • Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen
  • Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
  • Talon by Julie Kagawa
  • The Bird And The Sword by Amy Harmon
  • The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
  • The Museum Of Extraordinary Things by Alice Hoffman
  • Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Feel free to consider yourself tagged if you’d like to join as well. Have a great week everyone! ❤

6 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. Seems like you have had a number of good reads so far this year. I look forward to reading your review of The Fire Child. The book seems interesting. I hope that you will like The Room when you get to it. Its quite an unforgettable book. Great tag!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m really looking forward to The Fire Child! I’m going to read The Ice Twins first though… And The Room definitely sounds like an intriguing read.

      Like

  2. Looks like you’ve had a great bookish 2016 so far! I really wanted to read Uprooted and The Museum of Extraordinary Things as well. Hopefully we’ll both get around to reading them before the end of the year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m definitely happy with the new favorites I’ve discovered this year! I’m looking forward to read those two books (especially Uprooted since I love books about dragons), so fingers crossed we both will be able to read them. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

