WWW Wednesdays #101 – July 27th

wwwwednesdays

WWW WEDNESDAYS is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words and is all about answering the three questions below.

  • WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

whenwecollided

I’ve only just started When We Collided by Emery Lord, but I have heard so many great things about it that I can’t wait to continue reading! I won’t be having a lot of spare time this week, but hopefully I will be able to finish it before the weekend.

  • WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

wwwjuly27th2016finished

* The first book I was able to finally finish was The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse. I can’t say I really enjoyed it. The first part was quite slow and I had problems with the prose. I also wish the story would have focused on the war itself… The Neverland descriptions were really entertaining to read though.
* I then read the Dorothy Must Die novella Ruler Of Beasts by Danielle Paige. This one was probably one of my favorite novellas of the bunch… Mostly because Ozma played a big role in the story and a new interesting character (the Nome King) was introduced.
* Next up was The Summer That Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel, which made it to my list of favorite 2016 reads. Such a powerful and well written story! I can definitely recommend this one.
* I then finally finished The Hired Girl by Laura Amy Schlitz, a book I didn’t enjoy as much as I thought I would. I normally love historical fiction, but I didn’t like the main character Joan and there was too much ‘strong’ religious dialogue and cheesy romance in the last part of the story.
* Next up was the supershort, but action-packed story Environmentally Friendly by Elias Zanbaka. Without doubt an interesting and fast-paced read!
* I then read Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry for free at Riveted. Check out the website if you haven’t already; each two weeks or so they offer four new free titles to read online! (This one is available until August 1st). Rot & Ruin turned out to be a very good read, which I’m still surprised about because I normally don’t really like stories with zombies… But it’s well written and I like that there’s almost no romance (at least in the first book).
* The last book I finished is The Fire Child by S.K. Tremayne, which turned out to be even better than her first novel. Well written prose, great descriptions that set a spooky atmosphere and many many plot twists… Recommended!

  • WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

wwwjuly27th2016next

I will probably read my last pending ARC first: the Jamie Quinn Mystery Collection by Barbara Venkataraman. It definitely sounds like an entertaining read! I also want to read The Bird And The Sword by Amy Harmon, but I might try Thunderlight by Adrienne Woods first. I really enjoyed the first book and since I’m in the mood for a dragon story this one sounds like a great choice. Secret Letters by Leah Scheier is still my newest TBR jar pick.

36 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #101 – July 27th

  1. The Fire Child was even better than The Ice Twins?! Wow, you are making it hard for me not to grab it right away, haha. I’ve behaved and it’s been nicely sitting on my shelf until I get rid of my ARCs but now that I know Tremayne outdid herself with her second book, I am not sure I can’t stay away much longer, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I can understand the temptation! I had the excuse that it was an ARC so I could read it right away… And I definitely liked it even better than The Ice Twins! Mostly because of the main characters and setting, because the descriptions are just as excellent. She is definitely one of my favorite newly discovered authors. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. *ears prick up* Dragons you say? I’ve just marked the first Adrienne Woods book as to read, as there don’t seem to be enough dragon books about, and I’ve been craving another good one since Seraphina. I need to check out the Sumer that Melted Everything.

    Here’s my WWW Post

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, dragons! I love dragon stories as well and I really enjoyed Firebolt last year, so I’m looking forward to the sequel. In short it’s about a magic school where dragons are actually some sort of ‘shapeshifters’ and attend school along with humans. Very entertaining even though some of the plot was quite predictable! 🙂 And The Summer That Melted Everything is SO good; definitely recommended as well.

      Like

    • Haha I guess most of us are guilty of that. 😉 When We Collided is a cute contemporary romance so far and The Bird And The Sword has been recommended to me by various bloggers, so I’m looking forward to it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a zombie fan, but hadn’t gotten into the Rot & Ruin series yet, but my son kept nagging me to start it – just finished the 3rd book a couple of months ago. Completely hooked!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

