BOOK REVIEW: When We Collided – by Emery Lord

brwhenwecollided

Title: When We Collided
Author: Emery Lord
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
First published: April 5th 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Finished reading: July 31st 2016
Pages: 352
Rating 4qqq

“Even the constellations can see us now: we are seventeen and shattered and still dancing. We have messy, throbbing hearts, and we are stronger than anyone could ever know.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I know a lot of bloggers are big Emery Lord fans, but I have never actually picked up any of her novels so far. Now I’ve finished When We Collided, I know this is going to change. Contemporary romance is not really my genre, especially if it’s too cheesy, but this story is definitely one of the exceptions to that rule. First of all, I loved the writing style! The prose and fast pace made When We Collided into a very quick and entertaining read and the only reason it took me this long to finish it is because I forgot my kindle when I went away during the weekend… Because the story reads like a train. The character development is well done and I really liked the main characters. Vivi and Jonah are just adorable together, and I love little Leah! The POV switches each chapter between Vivi and Jonah, and I like how the chapters complement each other. Also, I can really appreciate the whole bipolar angle. It’s a very important topic in the first place and Emery Lord did a great job of both incorporating it into the story and showing what it’s like having to live with the disease. The many artsy references are great as well! If you like a good contemporary romance novel with a ‘serious’ twist, I can definitely recommend When We Collided.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Jonah has been struggling to deal with his father’s dead himself, but his mother is so down she cannot even get out of bed… It is up to him and his older siblings to take care of the younger ones, as well of the family restaurant. It’s easy to say life hasn’t been easy during the last few months. Things change when he meets Vivi when he takes his little sister Leah to a pottery workshop. Jonah would never have thought a girl like Vivi would pay attention to him, let alone be interested in him… But Leah is less insecure and invites her new friend over for dinner. Jonah and Vivi never expected their summer to be like this, and it is definitely turning out to be a summer that will change their future forever…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

Although it’s not my favorite genre, I can still really appreciate a contemporary romance story as long as it’s well written and not too cheesy. When We Collided is one of them. I fell in love with both the writing style and the main characters (especially Jonah, Vivi and Leah). I did feel Vivi was almost too ‘bubbly’ and cheerful at points, but that was until I reached the part that explained her character. I liked the ending as well: it was kind of refreshing! I would definitely recommend this novel to fans of the genre.

10 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: When We Collided – by Emery Lord

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

